Fritters!

Posted on July 11, 2014. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , |

I haven’t been able to cook for a few weeks; we’re terribly understaffed at work so I’ve been working over time. Food for me has been quick snacks or frozen pizza (I know, I know, where did the healthy food go??). Well, Tuesday was my birthday and I was hoping to cook something on Wednesday on my day off, but a 60 oz margarita happened on Tuesday so Wednesday didn’t really happen. Today at work all I could think about was a sweet potato that I knew I had at home. Originally I wanted to make a hash, but as the day went on I decided I wanted to make fritters. Why? I have no idea, I’ve never made fritters before, but hey, why not.  My first 2 fritters didn’t hold together because I made them way to large and didn’t have enough panko, but I fixed the mixture for the second few that I made. This recipe makes enough for quite a few, so feel free to scale back the amount, I have a lot of mixture in the fridge for tomorrow.

I already posted the basics of the recipe on Facebook for my sister, but here’s the full (ish) one!

Sweet Potato and Zucchini Fritters

1 sweet potato
2 zucchini
2 carrots
4 Cloves Garlic
3 eggs
1 small box Panko
2 cups shredded Parmesean Cheese
Salt, pepper, dill, paprika, fresh oregno, basil
Siracha Yogurt sauce (recipe below)

  1. Shred the potato, zucchini and carrots in the food processor with the cheese grater attachment (or use a hand cheese grater). Add the garlic right at the end.
  2. Turn the mixture into a bowl and add the remaining ingredients, mixing to incorporate. Form small balls and fry in a cast iron skillet, browning on both sides. Serve with a side of dill quiona and top with Siracha Yogurt sauce.

Siracha Yogurt Sauce

1/3 cup Greek yogurt
1 -2 tablespoons Siracha
Salt, pepper and paprika to taste

  1. Mix all in a bowl, taste and adjust to level of spice.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Fritters!”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

I’m starting to get a ton of zucchini in my CSA, and this looks like a great way to use it. Thanks!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    July 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

