In the morning, I’m making waffles!

Posted on July 13, 2014. Filed under: Breakfast | Tags: , , |

When I woke up this morning I saw about two or three posts on twitter about waffles, so naturally, I had to make waffles. Weird part is, I haven’t made or eaten waffles in years. Normally if I’m getting breakfast, it’s eggs and hash browns. But, non the less, I had to have waffles. Now, when I do something, I have to go a little over the top, it’s probably from watching a little too much Chopped, but I don’t mind. So instead of doing just plain waffles, I made peach honey waffles with candied walnuts and peaches on top. The waffles turned out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside and the topping was good, but is slowly becoming hard while it cools. Once again, I made too much for myself so there is now waffle batter in the fridge along with the fritter mixture. I would suggest trying this out for a Sunday brunch with some mimosas.

Honey Peach Waffles

2 eggs
2 cups flour
1 1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup oil
1/2 tbsp sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 peach, chopped and halved

  1. Preheat your waffle iron.
  2. Beat the eggs until fluffy, then add flour, milk, honey, oil, sugar, powder, salt and vanilla and mix until the batter is smooth. Add half of the chopped peach near the end.
  3. Start making the walnut topping, recipe below.
  4. Spray the waffle iron with cooking spray and ladle the batter into the iron, cook until brown and crispy.

Candied walnuts and peaches

1/2 chopped peach
1/2 cup walnut halves
1/4- 1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp oil
Dash of doughnut vodka (optional)
Salt, black pepper, red pepper, cinnamon, ginger

  1. Add the peaches, walnuts, sugar, vanilla and oil to a skillet, stir until the sugar has melted. Add the vodka and spices to taste and cook down until the mixture is at a syrup consistency. Add to waffles.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “In the morning, I’m making waffles!”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

Waffles, peaches and vodka. Then you start talking about mimosas – this sounds like a perfect Sunday morning!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    July 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

