Chop it down

Posted on August 22, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized |

If you know me for more than an hour, you know I love to cook. If you know me longer than that, you know my favorite show in Chopped. It combines the skill, creativity and logic of the people competing. It has also given me a lot of ideas to expand my cooking palate. I tried quinoa, kale and brussles sprouts because of this show, and love them all.

Tonight, when I got home from work, I was hungry. The problem was that I had no clue what I wanted or even if I wanted to cook. Generally, that’s not a problem for me because of my love of food, but, non the less, I had no clue. I kept thinking about my brussles sprouts I had in the fridge, and decided to make something with that. The next thing you know, I’m pulling a can of condensed vegetable soup and can of chickpeas from the Cabinet. I ended up making a sauce for whole wheat pasta. It at first was a little loose, so I added corn starch, but too much. I didn’t want to add more water, so I added a half of a bottle of Sheet Metal Blonde beer by Barley Island Brewery. The ending result was kind of gross looking, but man, I tell you, it was amazing. I’m not going to put up the recipe, only because I’m not sure exactly what I put in at parts. But, I challenge you, look in your cabinets and pull out four things you wouldn’t normally put together. Make a meal from it, you may be surprised how much you like it.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    August 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

