But how Easy is it, Really?

Posted on September 14, 2014. Filed under: Dining |

So many inventions in the world come from the need for convenience; cars, phones, computers, the internet, fast food. I get it, going through the drive through is fast and you have no clean up. I used to love going through the fast food lines, mainly because I could stop somewhere when I was on the way to a rehearsal or another job. But, after not going out for food almost at all in the past few months, I’ve actually become pretty disenfranchised with the whole fast food life. Every time I get something, I’ve been disappointed, so why go back? Cooking for myself has made me appreciate a lot more about food and how it makes me feel.

Cooking from scratch isn’t easy in any way shape or form, you have prep work, cooking time, and clean up time. For some dishes you can take over two hours to make. But you know what? You can cook in bulk, put some of that stuff in the freezer, eat it for a few days. You know exactly what goes in the dishes you make and now matter what you make, it will ALWAYS be healthier. I’m a big advocate of making everything you can from scratch. You want that pie? Make the crust, at least you know there’s no chemicals.

I talk about this quite a bit, but I feel like I’m living proof that cooking for yourself is so much better. Yesterday I made myself apsaragas and sweet potatoes with brown rice and quinoa. I hadn’t eaten that many veggies all week and let me tell you, I had so much energy at work and didn’t get hungry part of the way through like I do if I had eaten something different.

I’m not saying I’m perfect, I got Pizza Hut last week. But, I felt kind of gross after two slices. I should have just made the stuff, but I didn’t want to. It was convenient, but a really bad idea. But hey, you live and learn. It’s ok to do that every once in a while, but not all the time. Learn to cook from scratch, give yourself just a week of cooking every meal for yourself, I promise you that you’ll never want to go back.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    September 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

