Po…tay…toes…

Posted on November 4, 2014. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , |

If you ask me what my favorite potato is, I’ll tell you it’s a sweet potato. (Don’t question that fact that you’re asking me this, food comes up in normal conversation, right?) It’s much tastier than a white potato and according to some people (take or leave it) claim it is healthier than the white potato.

I’ve been really busy doing 4 different shows and working at Bdubs that I haven’t really had time to eat very well in the past week. I’ve had a lot of soup and grilled cheese or Bdubs food and I’ve been feeling it! I thought I was getting sick, but really I just needed some good food and time off. Well, today is the one day I get off, so I decided to make something I could warm up through the week. Before I had made a sweet potato and brussles sprout hash with a fried egg on top. It was great, but not as great warmed up. I decided to get a bottle of Tikka Masala sauce and made kind of a vegetarian Tikka Masala with the left overs. Today, I decided to do that from the start. I bought the sauce again, but there are recipes all over to make your own sauce, and one day I’ll be doing that. This recipe is made to last a few days, or for a group of people. It warms up easy and all you have to do is add some rice.

Sweet Potato and Asparagus Tikka Masala

1 sweet potato
1 bunch asparagus5 cloves garlic
1 red onion
1 jalapeno
1 orange pepper
1 can of chicpeas
salt, pepper, curry powder, tumeric
1 jar Tikka Masala Sauce
White Rice

  1. Cube the sweet potato, cut the woody ends of the asparagus ends and chops into chunks. Add them to a large pot with some olive oil, salt, pepper, curry powder and tumeric. Saute until the sweet potatoes are mostly cook through.
  2. While the veggies are on the stove, smash and chop the garlic and dice the onion. Add to the veggies and saute until the onions are translucent.
  3. Deseed and chop up the peppers and add them to the pot. Cook for another few minutes.
  4. Add the the chicpeas and the Masala sauce with a little bit of water (I put water in the jar and shook it to get the rest of the sauce out) and simmer while you wait for your rice to cook.
  5. Serve on top of your favorite rice!

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    November 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

