Mmmm cheese

Posted on December 30, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

If you know me, you know I have a crazy love of cheese and a bad addiction to Mexican Queso Blanco. I’ve been wanting to get Mexican food for a while, but in my mind that’s a social thing, so I decided to make my own at home. It seems no matter what I do, I can’t replicate the flavors I want, but what I made tonight was pretty tasty.

I asked for a double boiler for Christmas (for some reason mom and dad had a hard time finding one, why wouldn’t stores have them? Makes no sense) so I decided to make my own Queso Blanco in that and make an avocado quesidilla. I ended up adding more half and half than the dip recipe calls for, but here I’m just putting the exact recipe this website provided. I also added garlic powder, but, come on, I love the stuff. The quesidilla is my own creation that was inspired by something I think I saw on Twitter. Both recipes make a decent amount so you can make these for a party or a group dinner. Enjoy!

Queso Blanco
(From Food.com)

1 cup monterey jack cheese or 1 cup asadero cheese or 1 cup chihuahua cheese, shredded fine
4 ounces green chilies
1/4 cup half-and-half
2 tablespoons onions, chopped fine
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 serrano pepper, chopped fine (optional)
1 tablespoon fresh cilantro, chopped fine (optional)

  1. Put all ingredients in a double boiler and heat on medium.
  2. Cook until melted and well blended, stirring occasionally.
  3. Serve with fresh tostadas or hot flour tortillas.

Avocado Quesidilla

1 avocado, sliced
Refried Beans
Montery Jack Cheese, shredded
Roma Tomato, diced
1 Tbsp Red Onion, chopped
1/2 Jalapeno, Chopped and deseeded
Salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste
2 Burrito sized flour tortillas

  1. Spread refried beans on one side of each tortilla. Layer tomato, avocado, onion, spices, jalapeno and cheese in that order on one tortilla, add the other tortilla on top to make a sandwich. Brown both sides in either a quesidilla maker or a skillet until cheese is melted. Serves 2.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

