When did we forget?

Posted on January 9, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , |

I’ve realized in the past few weeks that not only have we forgotten how to cook, it seems we’ve forgotten how to eat too. Now, I never thought I was an expert on food, I honestly thought most people had the same knowledge that I do. After serving people at Bdubs and just going through life, I’ve learned that’s not that case. I’m not sure how many ties I’ve had to explain what a dry rub is to people, isn’t that common knowledge?

Anyway, I digress. One of the girls I work with, Chelsea, is always wanting to lose weight. Nothing wrong with that, she’s not a big girl by any means, but she’s not feeling too good about herself and that would help her. She tried one of those juice cleanses and I told her at the beginning that it’s not going to work. Any of those cleanses or crash diets never work; they help you drop water weight really quickly, but they don’t help teach you how to eat correctly. She told me after she was done that I was right, but she didn’t know how to cook healthy food for herself.

So, in honor of Chelsea and others who maybe need some suggestions, I’m going to post something at least once a week that will be healthy, and what to get at the store that is not only healthy but cost efficient. As I’ve said in the past, balance is key. Don’t go over board on anything, if you want the cake, eat the salad. This week, I’m doing one of my favorite salads for you guys, it’s simple, you don’t have to turn on the stove (so you can make this in the summer too) and it’s filling.

Spinach and Kale Salad

Here’s what to get at the store (this will make many servings):

Bag of spinach
Bunch of Kale
1/2 pound radishes
1 pomegranate
Blackberries (they are the cheapest right now, get whatever berry is in season)
1 red onion
2 Roma tomatoes
Avocado (should be darker green, soft but not too soft)
Stone ground mustard
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Balsamic Vinager
Honey
Siracha

Spinach and Kale Salad

Handful of Spinach
Handful of Kale, Chopped
2 radishes, chopped
1 tbsp chopped red onion
1/2 tomato, diced
1/2 avocado, diced
3-4 blackberries
1 tbsp pomegranate seeds

Dressing:
Equal parts oil and vinager
Dash of honey, siracha, and mustard
Salt, pepper, garlic powder

  1. De-seed your pomegranate. The best way I’ve found is to roll it around to break up the inside tissues, then cut along the outside, don’t cut down the middle. Pull the halves apart and hit the rind of the pomegranate with a spoon over a bowl, most of the seeds should come out. You can store what you don’t use in a tupperware container in your fridge.
  2. Put all of the ingredients in a bowl, honestly half the time I use a large mixing bowl and eat it out of there. Season with salt and pepper, mix together.
  3. Make your dressing, put everything in a bowl or measuring cup and whisk together. Pour over your salad and mix with some tongs. That’s it!

I eat this many times a week, it’s full of good things that give me energy, even in these darker winter months. If you want to get fancy, and don’t mind spending the extra cash, get some walnuts to add some protein. I didn’t include them in this recipe because they are expensive, but they do last a while. The things I told you to buy should last you about a week and cost under $30. Enjoy!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

