The addiction is real!

Posted on January 22, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , |

I’m on a roll, I just want cook all the food. To me, cooking is a way to unwind from the day, be creative, and a way to fill up time. I feel like I’ve had SO MUCH FREE TIME in the past few weeks, so of course I’m wanting to cook.

I got some organic asparagus from Meijer last week and I had to use it soon or I would’ve wasted money on asparagus that went bad in my fridge. For some reason, I kept thinking lemon cream sauce. Have I ever made a lemon cream sauce? No. Was I going to let that stop me? Duh, of course not. I already have an amazing fresh pasta recipe so I figured, why not, how hard can it be?

Now, the biggest thing you need to remember when making sauces is taste, taste, taste. You could use exact measurements and your dish won’t taste right. Learning how the flavors go together and how they work are some of the most important parts of cooking. So, a lot of this recipe just has names of things, but no measurements. I want you to play around with the flavor, make what you like.

Fresh Made Pasta

Here’s what to get from the store:

Asparagus
Lemon
Heavy Cream
Moscato
Red onion
Sweet onion
Shredded Parmesan

Asparagus in lemon cream sauce

1 bunch of Asparagus, chopped
1/2 red onion, chopped
1/2 sweet onion, chopped
5 cloves garlic, diced
Juice and peel of 1 1/2 lemon
1/4 cp Moscato (and more for you!)Salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, orgeno
1 pint heavy cream
Parmesan cheese

  1. Saute the garlic and onions in some olive oil with salt and pepper until the onions are translucent. Add some moscato and simmer until the liquid is cooked off.
  2. Add the asparagus and saute some more until it is a bright green. Add the grated lemon peel and juice, saute some more.
  3. Add the heavy cream and bring to a boil. Add more salt and pepper, along with the other spices. Let it reduce a little bit then add the Parmesan cheese. Add your cooked pasta and mix all together.

That’s it! It’s a very easy recipe, you just have to make sure you taste it many times.

Now, cream sauce isn’t the most healthy things on the face of the earth, but I’m considering this dish a little on the good side because it’s made from scratch. Cooking from scratch is so much better for you, there are so many chemicals in everything. It’s ok to eat those, but you shouldn’t eat them all the time. And besides, after having fresh made pasta you may not want to go back. Add this sauce to it and you’ll feel like a master. Good food doesn’t have to be complicated, being simple can be just as delicious.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

