Crunch Crunch Crunch

Posted on February 13, 2015. Filed under: Appitizers | Tags: |

If you’ve ever had a few drinks with me you know I LOVE crunchy food with my drinks. Why? Who knows, I just like the crunch factor it seems. I’ve been wanting to try kale chips for a while, but if you’re like me, you don’t want to spend $6 on a small container when kale is less than a dollar a pound at most grocery stores. Last night after a Lagunitas IPA, I decided to try to make them myself. I burned my first batch (kind of, my oven is insane) so I decided to make some more today to add to my pepper bean soup that I had defrosted. While the flavor was there, they got mushy in my soup. I think if I made them again I would use them as a crunch factor on a sandwich or just eat them by themselves.

This recipe is very easy and very customizable on flavor. My only advice on this recipe is to keep an eye them in your oven, mine always seems to be hotter than I set it so things cook much faster.

Here’s what to get from the store:

Kale

Crunch Kale Chips

Kale
Olive OilSeasoning of choice

  1. Take the stems out of your kale and leave the leaves pretty big. Mix with olive oil and your favorite seasonings.
  2. Bake in a 275 degree oven on a cookie sheet for about 15-20 minutes, or until crispy.

This is a good alternative if you want something crispy to eat and despite the amount of fiber it’s not really that filling.

I started doing yoga again, and for someone who has a job on her feet, it’s perfect for me. I suggest this type of exercise for anyone who is a beginner. It helps you stretch out and build your muscles at the same time, and you may not even notice you’re doing it. I took a yoga class my last semester in college to fill out my schedule and it was a great decision. Not only did it help me get in great shape, it actually slowed down my normally quick moving brain.  There are hundreds of videos on youtube to help get you started, if you don’t want a class. I suggest hatha flow because that’s what I did in school.  Pairing healthy eating with some exercise, even light, will help you feel better.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

