Flatten it out!

Posted on February 17, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , , |

I’m not going to lie, every once in a while, if I’ve had a few weeks of crazy-ness, I’ll take a day just to do me things. Yes, I know what you’re thinking, I realize I had a vacation a few weeks ago. As awesome as that vacation was, it was a lot of activity, and then I jumped straight into tech for my latest show. So, today was the day I took for myself. Which, of course, besides the yoga was laundry and cleaning my apartment. But I stayed in bed later, and I did take my friend’s dog out because I cannot say no to any dog.

Yesterday while at work I randomly got an idea for a flat bread with tomatoes, mozzarella, asparagus and a balsamic reduction.  I couldn’t even tell you why it popped into my head, but it did. Maybe it’s because I’ve been craving pizza but I can’t ever find one that I like anymore.

The biggest thing I’ve learned by eating home made, fresh, non processed foods for the past few months is that I don’t miss them. I realized very quickly that what I can make at home is much better than what other places can make for me. Now, that doesn’t mean I refuse to eat other stuff; I had some mac and cheese at work last night; I just know I don’t need it.

This recipe has a lot of steps, which may seem daunting, but it’s actually really easy. Don’t be afraid to try it (including the tomatoes, why do I know so many people who don’t like tomatoes??)

Grilled Asparagus Caprese Whole Wheat Flatbread

Here’s what to get from the store: (assuming you have things like baking powder and baking soda)

Whole wheat flour
Greek yogurt , plain
Asparagus
Shallots (type of onion)
Boccihoni (fresh mozzarella pearls, they will be in with the higher quality cheeses)
Roma tomatoes
Butter
Balsamic vinegar

Whole Wheat Flatbread (For pizza, below)
(Originally From the Lean Green Bean)

2 cups white whole wheat flour
¼ cup water
¾ cup whole milk yogurt
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
2 tsp sugar
1 Tbsp oil
½ tsp salt
Melted butter for brushing (I made a garlic and shallot infused, recipe below)

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine all ingredients and use the dough hook to mix just until a rough ball has formed. Dough should be very soft.
  2. Let rest 1 hour.
  3. Knead by hand or using the mixer for about 3 minutes, then divide dough into 6-8 balls.
  4. Roll each ball into an oval that’s about ¼ inch thick
  5. Spread melted butter on one side and place butter side up in hot pan (or a grill pan, if you have one!)
  6. Cover pan with lid for 30-45 seconds until bubbles start to form.
  7. Remove lid, flip over and cook 30-45 seconds more.

Shallot and Garlic infused butter

1 shallot, chopped
3 cloves garlic, smashed
1 stick butter

  1. Melt butter in a sauce pan, add the shallots and garlic, then bring to a simmer. Brush on the flat bread while cooking.

Balsamic Reduction

1 cup Balsamic vinegar

  1. Bring vinegar to a boil in a saucepan, stirring constantly. Lower heat and bring to a simmer, let cook until it has reduced by half. You can store it in an air tight container in the fridge.

Asparagus and Tomato Flat bread

1 cooked whole wheat flatbread
1/2 bunch asparagus, quartered1.5 Roma Tomatoes, sliced
1 container of Boccichini, sliced
Shallot and Garlic butter
Balsamic reduction
Salt, pepper, basil

  1. First you need to blanch your asparagus. Cook it in boiling water until the color is bring green. Drain and set aside.
  2. Take some of the shallots and garlic that cooked in the butter and spread it on the flat bread. Add the sliced tomatoes, asparagus and mozzarella. Top with salt, pepper and basil. Cook in a 350 degree oven on a cookie sheet until the cheese has melted.
  3. Put it out of the oven, transfer it to a cutting board, cut and drizzle with the balsamic reduction.

Now, I made two flat breads for some weird reason, but it’s not that filling (or I’m really hungry). The actual bread recipe makes a LOT of flat bread, I still have some sitting in the fridge. This is where you get to have some fun with it. I’m probably going to make a dessert pizza with some strawberries and the vinegar reduction, but the possibilities are endless. Open up your fridge and see what’s in there, add to the flat bread, who knows, you may like it!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

