Pop Pop Pop!!

Posted on February 20, 2015. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , , |

I’ve been posting a lot more and there’s only 2 reasons why; I want to make sure I keep up on my at least once a week healthy recipe, AND I found out I have some regular readers! (Shout out to you guys!). But, I did get out of tech recently so I’ve been having quite a lot of free time. If you remember me from college, free time = way to much cooking. Not saying it’s a bad thing, every time I bake people I work with or my ladies in my shows get to reap the benefits.

Calli got me a cake pop maker for Christmas, and when I was first looking through the recipe book that came with it, I was a little frustrated because EVERY recipe either included buttermilk or cake mix. The buttermilk isn’t a big issues, but it’s cold and I don’t want to go out there that often. The cake mix is; I really feel it’s lazy to use cake mix when you can just use flour and eggs, ect. I decided to look online for brownie pop recipes and I didn’t really find any, but I DID find a recipe by Alton Brown for brownies using brown sugar (at the time I didn’t have a lot of white sugar) and it works great in the cake pop maker. The brownies come out very light and fluffy with a lot of flavor. But, I couldn’t stop there, chocolate and peanut butter are a classic pairing, so I dunked them in a peanut butter glaze. The result makes a very tasty looking, doughnut hole style treat.

This recipe is very easy to make and you can either bake it the was Alton suggests, or you can pour it into a cake pop maker like I did and the glaze will work either way.

Brownie Pops with Peanut butter Glaze

Here’s what to get from the store:

Butter
Eggs
Cocopowder
Peanut butter
Powdered Sugar
Milk

Cocoa Brownies
(From Alton Brown)

Soft butter, for greasing the pan
Flour, for dusting the buttered pan
4 large eggs
1 cup sugar, sifted
1 cup brown sugar, sifted
8 ounces melted butter
11/4 cups cocoa, sifted
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Butter and flour an 8-inch square pan.
  2. In a mixer fitted with a whisk attachment, beat the eggs at medium speed until fluffy and light yellow. Add both sugars. Add remaining ingredients, and mix to combine.
  3. Pour the batter into a greased and floured 8-inch square pan and bake for 45 minutes. Check for doneness with the tried-and-true toothpick method: a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan should come out clean. When it’s done, remove to a rack to cool. Resist the temptation to cut into it until it’s mostly cool.

Peanut Butter Glaze

1/3 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1-2 tablespoons milk

  1. Whisk everything together until smooth.

I take pictures of everything I post on here onto instagram. Feel free to follow me, my username is remihich.

While I’ve been trying to teach healthy cooking, I understand that it’s hard to always keep up. (I have been craving BLOCKS of sharp cheddar). I bake because I like to; but I love even more to give it away to my friends. There is something so amazing about seeing how happy people are when they eat something I make. That is almost better than eating the entire pan of brownies myself.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

