Burns so good!

Posted on March 9, 2015. Filed under: Appitizers | Tags: , , |

For some reason, I refuse to go grocery shopping until after my shift tonight. (Probably because I didn’t want to get up earlier than 11..don’t be too jealous) That being said, I used the last of my spinach last night, so a salad was out, and a smoothie just isn’t a full meal. I did, however, still have a few jalapenos from the last time I went shopping. I had wanted to make jalapeno poppers for a while, but just never got around to it. So why not today, right?

In true form, I wanted to only use things I had in my apartment, kind of like a weird version of Chopped. I didn’t have much, but I DID have some quiona and left over Mexican cheese blend from the fish tacos I made a week ago.

I’m not saying when you make this you have to use stuff that you don’t have to buy, but it’s always fun to see what you can make with what you have. As a society we’ve become so used to throwing out food we don’t finish, and that’s just not good. It’s wasteful and there are people who barely get what a lot of us do. I’ve been trying to only get things that I will use completely, and I challenge you to do the same. This recipe is a result of that, and I’m sure there are things in your cabinets that can make something yummy.

Quiona Stuffed Jalapeno Poppers

Here’s what to get from the store (If you don’t have it)

Jalapeno
Quiona
Mayo
Avocado
Mexican blend cheese

Quiona Stuffed Jalapeno

4 jalapeno
1 cup quiona
3 cloves garlic
1 tbsp diced onion
1/4 cup shredded cheese
1/4 cup mayo
1/2 avocado
Salt and pepper

  1. Put the quiona in a pot with some water to soak, about 15 minutes, before turning on the burner. Bring to a simmer and let cook until fluffy.
  2. While this is going, cut your jalapeno in half length wise and scrape the seeds out of the inside.
  3. Once the quiona is finished, add it to a bowl with the garlic, onion, salt, pepper, cheese and mix. Put the mixture into each jalapeno and put them in a 8 x 8 baking dish, or any dish that would help the peppers not fall over. Cook in an oven at 350 for 20 minutes or until the quiona starts to brown on top and the peppers become soft.
  4. While that is cooking, make the mayo. You can either put everything in a food processor if your avocado is a little on the hard side, or mix it in a bowl until smooth. Season with salt and pepper and serve on top of the jalapeno.

You can either have this as a whole meal, or serve it as an appetizer if you’re having game day. It’s a healthier version of the normal poppers but still have a ton of flavor.

The last bit of food you have in your fridge can be daunting, but that doesn’t mean you can’t do something with it. Get out of your comfort zone and experiment a little, if it doesn’t work out, that’s just a learning experience and that’s just as helpful.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

