Snacking, snacking…snacking

Posted on March 13, 2015. Filed under: Snacks | Tags: |

There are two things that seem to be the hardest thing when you change your eating habits; giving up drinks that aren’t water, and what you snack on. Trust me, I get it. For me, giving up pop was actually pretty easy, I just didn’t want to spend on the money on it and I’m not a huge fan of carbonation. Snacking on the other hand was REALLY hard. I love all things crunchy and salty. Chex mix? Oh yea. Chips and queso dip? You know it. I started to try to fix it a little over a year ago where I would switch other salty snacks for stove popped popcorn. That really helped. That, and I just stopped going to that part of the grocery store (except for the occasional triscuit).

I’ve seen ton of recipes for oven roasted, crispy chickpeas online. Chickpeas are my favorite bean, so I thought, why not? That would be a very healthy snack. Not only was the result very tasty, I ate an entire can’s worth of chickpeas in one setting. I got my basis for these beans from Chow.com but the seasonings are all mine. This is something you can do if you don’t have a ton of time, and they last in a bag at room temperature for about a week (unless you eat them all like I did)

Here’s what to get from the store: (Assuming you have the spices)

Chickpeas

Crispy Oven Roasted Chicpeas

1 can chickpeas, drained
2-3 tablespoons olive oil
Salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, garlic powder

  1. Toss the chickpeas with the olive oil and seasonings until coated. Spread on a baking sheet with foil and cook in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Healthy food doesn’t have to taste boring; it’s all about the seasonings you add. Even the little changes you make day to day will have a giant impact on the rest of your life.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

