Cooking in heels at midnight

Posted on April 1, 2015. Filed under: Breakfast | Tags: , , |

My sister is getting married in October; I’ve had some awesome heels for a while that I finally get to wear, but I’m terrible with heels so I’m wearing them all the time now. That being said, for some reason I’ve been thinking about making baked oatmeal for about two days. No reason, I don’t even eat breakfast most of the time. Two episodes of Mad Men down I decided I had to do something, so why not make some simple baked oatmeal?

This recipe doesn’t have to be for breakfast; you can use it for a simple snack when you’re running late. It has fiber to fill you up and protein to get you going. I took a simple recipe I found from Taste of Home added a nut and berry mix to it and substituted an almond coconut milk instead of regular milk.

Nut and Berry Baked Oatmeal

Here’s what to get from the store:

Oatmeal
Eggs
Almond milk
Nut and dried berry snack mix

Nut and Berry Baked Oatmeal

3 cups oatmeal
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup nut and berry mix
2 eggs
1 cup almond milk
1/2 cup butter, melted

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. In a large bowl, combine oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. In another bowl, whisk eggs, milk and butter. Stir into oat mixture until blended.
  2. Spoon into a greased 9-in. square baking pan. Bake 40-45 minutes or until set. Serve warm with milk

Breakfast foods don’t have to be for breakfast. I’m probably going to have this for dinner in between work and rehearsal tomorrow. Don’t limit the time of day to what meal you have; I don’t work normal hours so why should I be limited to only have dinner foods at dinner?

The temperature jumps have made me a little congested as of late, and dried out. I’ve been CHUGGING water like a crazy lady. But, the amount of water I’ve been drinking is actually a good thing; not only have I been super hydrated but my skin is a lot less dry (or maybe that’s the humidity).
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

