Easter Dinner!

Posted on April 6, 2015. Filed under: Appitizers | Tags: , , |

Every Thanksgiving and Easter, we head to my Aunt Peg’s and Uncle Dan’s (my parent’s best friends) place. I started bringing a contribution to the meals when I moved into my new apartment a few years ago. I figured, I live 12 minutes away from their house, I can pull something out of the oven and get to their place with it still warm.

I’ve been spending a lot of time on Pinterest, which is where I’ve gotten a few of my recipe inspirations, like the sweet potato soup I made last week. This year I wanted to make something different from the norm (last Easter I made mac and cheese cups) that was something everyone would still like. I found this recipe from May I Have That Recipe for potato baskets with spinach and egg in them. It’s a little work intensive while being pretty simple at the same time. It was a big hit at the dinner; there were only a few left.

Eggs baked in Potato Baskets with Spinach

Here’s what to get from the store:

Baking potatoes
Fresh Spinach
Garlic
Eggs

Potato nests with Spinach and Eggs

1 tsp salt
¼ – ½ tsp pepper
4 cloves Garlic
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
4 tsp vegetable oil
Cooking Spray
10 oz bag fresh Spinach
4 large eggs

  1. Preheat oven at 400F
  2. Grate the potatoes, add ½ tsp of salt, mix well and let them sit in a colander with a bowl under it for 20 minutes.
  3. In a large skillet, sauté spinach in olive oil with the garlic. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Squeeze as much water out of the grated potatoes as you can. Season with ½ tsp garlic powder, ½ cayenne pepper, ½ tsp pepper. Add 4 tsp vegetable oil and mix well.
  5. Generously spray a 12 muffin tin pan with cooking spray.
  6. Arrange grated potatoes into each muffin cup, pressing against the bottom and up the sides.
  7. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until they start to brown slightly . Remove from the oven and set aside.
  8. In a medium size bowl, beat eggs, add a pinch of salt and spinach and mix until well combined.
  9. Evenly spoon spinach in each potato nest.
  10. Bake for 10 minutes or until egg is cooked.
  11. Remove from the oven and let them cool slightly.
  12. Carefully unmold each potato nest using a butter knife around the edges of the nest.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

