Leftover madness!!

Posted on April 8, 2015. Filed under: Appitizers | Tags: , , , |

Something no one tells you about changing your diet is that things happen internally before they happen externally. I’ve noticed 2 things that changed pretty quickly; my metabolism has sped up SO MUCH and I started burping (I never really burped before..thanks veggies?) I had expected my metabolism to sped up, but not as much as it did. I’ll eat a pretty big salad and be starving a few hours later. I got stuffed on Easter dinner on Sunday and was still hungry a few hours after I left. Even though it’s been a couple of months, I’m honestly still not used to being hungry all the time and weirdly burping quite a bit.

I try to limit the left overs that I bring home, because historically, I tend to forget about them. So, after Sunday’s meal, I only brought home the last 3 spinach potato baskets that I made, a little bit of ham (which was partially meant for the cats…aand I sound like the crazy cat lady…MOVING ON) and some of the dyed hard boiled eggs. Never the less, for the past few days I had been trying to figure out what to do with the ham because I don’t have bread for sandwiches, BUT, I do have Triscuits. Nabisco has really been pushing Triscuits as the cracker to top with all sorts of fun things, and why not? So I made little ham and cheese topped Triscuits in the oven. I’m going to eat all of them myself, but really, if you’re having a dinner party they’re a great appetizer.

You really shouldn’t have to get anything from the store, because I used things I have on hand, but just in case:

Rye and Caraway seed Triscuits
Stone Ground Mustard
Red Onion
Smoked Sharp Cheddar Cheese
Cooked ham, left over really

Left Over Ham and Cheese Triscuit Bites

Rye and Caraway seed Triscuits
Red onion, chopped
Stone ground mustard
Sharp cheddar cheese slices
Cooked ham, cubed
Pepper and garlic powder

  1. Arrange the crackers on a baking sheet covered with foil. Put a dot of the mustard in the middle of each one. Top with the ham, onion, seasonings and cheese. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

I don’t eat a ton of meat, so little that a lot of my friends that I’ve met recently think I’m a vegetarian. I’m not on purpose, I just don’t buy it because I think it’s expensive. Like most of the things that have happened in my life, this is purely accidental but I see nothing wrong with it.

I’m hoping to start running again soon, it’s been too long and I have to say that I miss it.

There is nothing wrong with challenging yourself to something new each day.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

