So much inspiration!

Posted on April 10, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , |

Last week I wasn’t to inspired for recipes, this week, I want to cook all the things.

Spring has finally come to the mid west and I think the population is thawing out as well. We generally jump out of our winter coats running as soon as we can after a really just awful winter. I’ve been opening my windows during the day and have been enjoying every second of it.

Spring is great because asparagus is back in season and I LOVE it. I only recently became addicted to the spring vegetable but I still can’t get enough of it. I may end up over loading on asparagus posts, but I don’t care. It’s a very versatile green with such a light flavor that it can go in almost anything, including portabello caps. When I was a kid, I HATED mushrooms with a passion, except, my aunt Peg’s sausage stuffed mushrooms, you can’t hate those. I don’t know why I decided to make a stuffed mushroom, but I felt I had to have one.

This recipe is very simple to make, and technically it makes two servings…but I ate both of them! Portabello mushrooms are great because they’re meaty, a little earthy but not too strong in flavor.

Quoina Stuffed Portobello Caps

Here’s what to get from the store:

Portabello mushroom
Quiona
Asparagus
Shallot
Dry white wine
Colby Jack cheese blend

Quiona and Asparagus stuffed Mushroom

1 cup quiona
1/2 bunch asparagus
1 shallot, chopped
3 cloves garlic, smashed
Splash of white wine
Salt, black and white pepper
2 mushroom caps

  1. Soak the quiona in water for about 15 minutes before bringing it to a boil, cook until the quiona is fluffy and most of the water is cooked out.
  2. Dice the asparagus and blanch it in boiling water until bright green; drain and put aside.
  3. While the quiona is cooking,  saute the garlic and onion in olive oil until fragrant; add a splash of white wine, no more than a quarter cup. Season with salt and peppers. Once the wine has cooked down, add the asparagus and saute to combine. Finally, add the quiona and mix.
  4. Take the stem and the black underpart out of the middle of the mushroom caps. Fill with quiona mixture and bake in a 350 degree oven until liquid starts pooling in the baking sheet. Add the cheese blend on top and cook until cheese is melted.

Tonight I close my first show that I opened with Gorilla Tango Theater and am full of mixed emotions; I have never been more proud to work with such an amazing, talented group of women.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

