No such thing as a mistake

Posted on May 1, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , |

If you’ve known me for a while, you know I love the show Chopped. Something that happens a lot on that show is that people have to change their dish in the middle of cooking because something didn’t work. That happened to me today; I was originally going to make zucchini rolls with sweet potato and ricotta filling. However, when I started to roll everything together, I realized that I had cut the zucchini a little to thickly to keep it rolled, so I switched gears, and I love the result quite a bit. Sure, it doesn’t look as cool as I wanted it to, but the flavors are all still there.

This recipe does have quite a few steps and took me about an hour and a half to make. BUT I now have food for the next few days that delicious, healthy and will warm up pretty easily. If you wanted to substitute jarred sauce instead of homemade you can, but I’ve never really liked jarred sauce.

Here’s what to get from the store: (assuming you have garlic, onion, scallions and spices)

Zucchini
Sweet potato
Riccotta
Crushed tomatoes

Zucchini and sweet potato “lasagna”

For the sauce:

4 cloves garlic, chopped
1/4 cup red onion, diced
1 scallion, diced
Fresh basil, chopped
Splash dry white wine
Salt, pepper, chili flakes, cayenne, sugar
1 large can crushed tomatoes

For the lasagna

2 zucchini, sliced long ways
1 sweet potato, cut into strips
Riccotta
Siracha
Salt, pepper, curry powder
Shredded mozz and Parmesan cheese

  1. Start your sauce: saute the garlic and onion in olive oil until fragrant. Throw a pinch of sugar and stir. Add about a 1/4 cup of white wine and reduce about half, adding the spices right near the end. Add the tomatoes and simmer for about 15 minutes, while you work on the lasagna.
  2. Saute the sweet potatoes until browned on both sides and set aside on a paper towel to drain.
  3. Slice the zucchini long ways either with a mandolin (it’s sharp, I cut myself) or your knife and set aside.
  4. Mix the ricotta with the siarcha and curry powder, taste to adjust.
  5. In an 8 x  8 square pan, layer the zucchini on the bottom, top with ricotta, then with sweet potato. You can do 2 layers like this. Pour half of the sauce on top and bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. Add the rest of the sauce and top with remaining cheeses and bake for another 15 minutes. Serve on a bed of spinach.

One of the things I’ve always wanted to change about myself was my butt…or lack of one. I was somehow the chunky girl with no butt in high school and now I’m the skinny girl with a huge chest and…kind of a butt? Finally though, after doing yoga for 6 days a week since February, I FINALLY have developed a little one. It’s not a big deal to anyone but me, but I think it’s pretty cool.

Results take a while, and from someone who wants instant results, being patient actually worked out pretty well.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

