Overboard!

Posted on May 9, 2015. Filed under: Appitizers, Main Course | Tags: , , , |

You know what’s great? Sleeping with the windows open with the temperature drops 20 degrees over night. Hello sore throat. And of course I had to work. I think with both jobs I’m topping well over 50 hours this week. Needless to say, I’m kind of tired.

That being said, I was also starving. After working both jobs yesterday, the last thing I wanted to do when I got home last night was eat. Today, all I wanted to do was eat. I had seen some sweet potato fry nachos online the other day and had been wanting  to make them for a while. I had originally wanted to make them for Cinco de Mayo, but I worked (see a pattern?) My two days off this week were filled with movies and sushi with Shawn and the Book of Mormon with the GTB peeps, so no cooking at home.

Today, I managed to get out of work early and was weirdly excited to do my laundry and cook some food. (Boring, right?)

This recipe is SUPER easy, but it does take a while. I guess you can substitute frozen sweet potato fries to save time, but I used actual sweet potatoes. I also cooked enough for an army, so feel free to make cuts on ingredient amounts.

Sweet Potato Fry Nachos

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet potato
Black beans
Mexican blend cheese
Jalapeno
Red onion
Poblano pepper
Queso Fresco
Zucchini (I put this in because I had one, but you don’t need to use it)
Tomato

Sweet Potato Fry Nachos

2 sweet potatoes, cut into fries
3 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped
1 zucchini chopped (optional)
1 poblano
1 jalapeno, diced
1 tomato, diced
1 1/2 cup shredded Mexican cheese blend
Queso Fresco
1/2 can black beans, drained
Handful of red onion, diced
1 avocado, cubed

  1. Saute the sweet potato in coconut oil until browned and starting to soften.  Season with salt and pepper. Add the garlic and saute some more. Place the poblano on a burner to char the outside. Put aside then dice.
  2. Spread the fries on a baking sheet lined with foil, add the zucchini and poblano.  with more salt, pepper, paprika, cilantro and cayenne pepper. Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes, stirring part of the way through.
  3. Once the zucchini has cooked, add the jalapeno, tomato, onion and beans and stir. Add the cheeses and cook until everything has melted. Add avocado once it comes out of the oven.

I have been using coconut oil for over 2 years, but this is the first time I’ve actually cooked with it. I was a little concerned it would add a coconut flavor to the potatoes, but it actually didn’t.

The one bad thing I’ve noticed about my new body is that none of my favorite pajama pants fit anymore. It’s almost tragic.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

