Some like it Hot

Posted on May 14, 2015. Filed under: Appitizers | Tags: , , , |

I really like spicy food. I don’t know if it’s the flavor, or the way my lips feel after eating something hot, but I love it. The older I get, the more I like it. Even though I don’t eat a ton of food from Bdubs, when I do I’m dipping it in our mango habanero sauce, which is probably the most spicy sauce we have. Add it to some bleu cheese dressing and it’s perfect.

I’ve been having a craving for a Buffalo style sauce as of late; I love the vinegar sauces they’re so full of flavor! But, as much as I do like chicken wings, that wasn’t what I wanted. I haven’t used quiona in a while, and I’ve seen ideas online for different quiona bites, so I decided to give a Buffalo quiona bite.

Like most of the things I make, this is better for an appetizer if you have a crowd of dudes coming over to watch the old sports ball, but I’m going to (attempt) to eat these all by myself. We’ll see how it goes, I’ve had 3 and I’m kind of stuffed already. I didn’t do a ton of measuring for this recipe, so I apologize in advance if the amounts are off. Sometimes I feel like I’ve gone back in time; I remember seeing a lot of great grandma’s recipes that had approximate amounts but you had to adjust on the go. I kind of like cooking this way, unless there’s a specific chemical reaction, measurements can be adjusted.

Buffalo Quiona Bites

This recipe is pretty easy, but it does take some time.

Here’s what to get from the store:

Quiona
Buffalo Sauce (I used Texas Pete because it’s on sale)Gorgonzola crumbles (if you don’t like it, you can get another)
Bleu Cheese
Greek Yogurt
Lemon Juice
Panko

Buffalo Quiona Bites with Bleu Cheese Yogurt Dip

For the bites:

1 1/2 cups quiona
Dijon Mustard
3 eggs
1 cup Panko
Salt, black and white pepper, paprika
Handful of Gorgonzola
Buffalo Sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons butter

For the Dip:

1 cup Greek yogurt
Handful Gorgonzola and Bleu Cheese
Lemon Juice
Salt, black and white pepper, garlic powder

  1. Soak and cook your quiona like you normally would. Drain and let cool.
  2. Add the quiona to the mustard, eggs, panko, seasonings and cheese. Mix and make sure the mixture sticks together. Form into little balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil and greased. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes, or until the balls are firm. (haha..I’m 12 sometimes)
  3. While the bites are in the oven, combine the butter and buffalo sauce in a sauce pan and cook down. If the sauce is too lose, you can add some flour.
  4. Make the dip: mix the yogurt with the cheese, juice and seasonings. Taste and adjust as needed.
  5. Once the bites have firmed up, add the butter and sauce mixture to them and cook for another 5 minutes. Take out of the oven and add some more of the sauce without the butter. Serve with the dipping sauce and celery, if you have any. (If you’re one of those weirdos who doesn’t like bleu cheese…you can use ranch, but I will judge you!)

I got a small cold over the weekend. I HATE being sick, even if it’s small it annoys the crap out of me. I couldn’t find my sudaphed yesterday so I had to buy some after work. Thanks to that, I’m almost 100% better, I’ve had so much energy today thanks to it.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Some like it Hot”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

[…] had some Greek Yogurt left over from the Buffalo Quiona Bites I made last week. I didn’t want to just make more of my siracha cream to dip crackers in […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

