Stuck on you

Posted on May 26, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , |

I finally got to go to the grocery store! Yesterday my salad consisted of spinach, onion, and radishes…most boring salad I’ve ever made.

ANYWAY, I really wanted to do something caprese related; there’s something about the mix of fresh mozzarella, tomato and basil that just blows my mind. I also wanted to grill something, even if I only have a grill pan. I haven’t had shrimp in a while, so I figured, why not make grilled shrimp skewers caprase style? Now, granted, I didn’t need to make them into skewers after I grilled the shrimp, but they just look so cool.

I had to get frozen shrimp and I’m kind of sad about it. I guess the person who worked the meat department at Meijer had the day off (that, and they had like 1 shrimp). I know it would have been even better if I had gotten the fresh shrimp, but, I can always make it again.

This recipe isn’t hard, it just takes a little time to make. If you have an actual grill, you can grill them outside next to your burgers, if not, a cast iron grill pan is just fine. If you do get fresh shrimp, remember to de vein them! (That’s poop in that vein!)

Shrimp Caprese Skewers

Here’s what to get from the store:

Shrimp
Fresh Mozzerella
Cherry Tomatoes
Sesame oil
Lemons
Limes
Basil
Pine nuts
Siracha
Worcestershire Sauce
Skewers
Tortellini

Grilled Shrimp Caparase Skewers

Shrimp, de veined
Zest and Juice of 1 lime
Zest and Juice of 1 lemon
Siracha
Sesame Oil
2 cloves Garlic
Salt, white pepper, paprika
Worcestershire Sauce
Tortellini, cooked

  1. Marinade your shrimp in equal parts sesame and olive oil with siracha, the lemon and lime, garlic and seasonings for about half an hour.
  2. Put as many as you can on 1 skewer while you’re pre heating your grill. Grill on both sides until the shrimp is pink. Add some more of the marinade while their cooking.
  3. Assemble the skewers: Cherry tomato – fresh mozz – tortellini – 2 shrimp – mozz – then tomato. Serve with baslmic reduction, garlic aioli, and basil pesto (recipe below)

Basil Pesto
(From Food Network)

2 cups packed fresh basil leaves
2 cloves garlic
1/4 cup pine nuts
2/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil, divided
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1/2 cup freshly grated Pecorino cheese

  1. Combine the basil, garlic, and pine nuts in a food processor and pulse until coarsely chopped. Add 1/2 cup of the oil and process until fully incorporated and smooth. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. If using immediately, add all the remaining oil and pulse until smooth. Transfer the pesto to a large serving bowl and mix in the cheese.
  3. If freezing, transfer to an air-tight container and drizzle remaining oil over the top. Freeze for up to 3 months. Thaw and stir in cheese.

I’ve been working a crazy amount. I was supposed to be off today through Thursday, but I’ve already picked up a shift today and tomorrow. Which will put me at another 2 weeks straight. I know, I’m nuts. But, I actually enjoy work. Sure, there’s drama (I work with a lot of young kids at the 1 place) and not all my customers are perfect, but I get to run around like a crazy person, meet new people, talk to new friends and make money while doing it. Even though while a lot of people don’t consider it a “big girl job” I count it as one because I can pay my bills, save money, AND afford to have some fun. There’s nothing better than that. I feel lucky, because I know a lot of people who aren’t happy where they are, and I actually am.

Be happy with what you do and who you are, that’s all that matters.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Stuck on you”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

[…] I made some caprese skewers with shrimp and tortellini.  (See the post). And, like always, I got ingredients for about 3 or 4 people. I didn’t feel like making the […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

