Don’t Nuke It!

Posted on May 27, 2015. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , , , , |

Leftovers are those things that sit in plastic containers in your fridge until you decide to eat them or throw them away. A lot of times they don’t warm up correctly; they get gummy or soggy. I used to be one of those who would get left overs from a restaurant and then forget to eat them, mainly because I knew they were going to be gross if I threw them in the microwave.

Since I changed my eating habits, I’ve used my microwave one time since Feburary. It was to melt butter for a recipe, but I realize I can do that on the stove. I’m about ready to clean the thing out and take it to Goodwill. Eating left overs shouldn’t be about eating some partially warmed up kind of soggy or dry item. It should be about breathing new life into something that was eaten before. That means no microwave. Your skillet is going to be your new best friend.

Yesterday, I made some caprese skewers with shrimp and tortellini.  (See the post). And, like always, I got ingredients for about 3 or 4 people. I didn’t feel like making the skewers again, but everything I used yesterday is great for a simple pasta dish. The only thing that wasn’t used in yesterday’s recipe was some diced onion and dry white wine. That’s it. It was made all in one skillet in about 30 minutes. Don’t use this recipe as an exact, use it as a suggestion to help you fix your boring left overs. Believe it or not, you can even use ideas like this to breath new life into restaurant left overs.

Caperse Tortilli with Grilled Shrimp

Here’s what to get from the store:

NOTHING! (Duh)

Left over Caprese Tortellini

Shrimp
Day old Torellini
Diced onion
Cherry Tomatoes, halved
Fresh Mozzarella
Dry white wine
Basil Pesto
Garlic Aioli
Salt and pepper

  1. Saute the diced onion in some olive oil and baslmic vinegar until fragrant. Add about a quarter cup of dry white wine and the tomatoes and let reduce.
  2. While the sauce is reducing, take the shells off your shrimp and put them back in the marinade. When you have enough (you’ll have some left over) throw them in the saute pan and cook until pink. Add the tortellini and saute until warm. Add a spoon full of basil pesto and toss to coat. Add the mozzarella right as you plate and stir so it melts slightly. Top with some garlic aioli.

When I was a kid, I was pretty out of shape. The first time I threw out my knee I was in middle school trying to get into a back bend from lying down. I wasn’t embarrassed (I don’t seem to get embarrassed) luckily, but I kind of always thought I was going to be a couch potato.

Even though I’m much healthier and at a perfect weight for my height, the chunky out of shape girl is still in the back of my head. I’ve been working very hard to forget what I looked like 15 pounds ago, but it’s hard. This is something that happens to anyone who goes through a transformation. While I wasn’t obese, at 145 pounds in high school, I was pretty big for my frame. It’s a hard thing to get over.

My body image is a LOT better, though. Most of that comes from feeling great on the inside. I had a regular I hadn’t seen in a while asked me if I have been working out and eating better, so I know I physically have changed. And, I can see it, my arm muscles are pretty cool looking now and I can actually see 2 of my abs!

For all of you out there who have it worse, you’re not alone. But your mental picture of yourself is very important. Trying to forget the past is hard, but the fit person you want is inside of you, don’t give up.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

