One more time!

Posted on May 31, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , |

I still had some shrimp left over from my dinners earlier on in the week and I had to use it soon or else it would go bad. The last thing I wanted to do was throw away a bunch of shrimp. I hadn’t had a chance for a few days; went to lunch and dinner on Friday and I worked all day yesterday. But, today I had a chance. I had been thinking about a quiona bowl all week; stuff like that is great before a long shift at work because it’s full of fiber so it fills you up for a long time.

This recipe uses a few of the left overs from earlier on in the week, and a few new things, but if you’ve been following my recipes for a while, you should almost have everything you need.

Grilled Shrimp over Curry Spiced Quiona

Curry spiced Shrimp Quiona Bowl

1 cup quiona
Shrimp in marinade
2 jalapeno, de seeded and diced
Cherry tomatoes, halved
1 tbsp diced onion
Kale
1/4 cup Pine Nuts
Salt, pepper, paprika, tumeric, curry powder, cinnamon

  1. Soak the quiona in cool water about 15 minutes than bring to a bowl and cook like normal.
  2. Toast the pine nuts in a pan without oil until browned, set aside.
  3. Add oil to the pan and saute the onions until translucent; add the tomatoes, jalapeno, salt, pepper and paprika. Saute for a few minutes then add the left over shrimp and marinade. Cook for a bit then add some flour to thicken the sauce.
  4. Once the quiona is done, add the pine nuts, kale and the seasonings except for the paprika. Stir until the kale is wilted.
  5. When the sauce is thickened, serve the shrimp over the quiona.

This weather is exhausting me. I had thought the roller coaster weather had stopped. Yesterday I had to work all day and hadn’t brought a jacket for after work. I walked out to 45 degree weather and rain. It’s almost June, it’s pretty frustrating. I’m just lucky I don’t have seasonal allergies like a lot of my friends.

I turn 30 in a little over a month and I’m really excited. My 20s were a mix of ups and downs, but I have a feeling my 30s are going to be pretty fantastic; I can’t wait to see what the future brings.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

