Creamy Goodness!

Posted on June 10, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , , |

The past 5 or 6 days have kind of been nuts. As I’ve said before, I have a problem with picking up shifts. So I ended up working quite a bit. Which is fine, I don’t mind it, but I have been slightly tired.

A lot of my friends and some of my customers are so confused at why I have two jobs to begin with. People who don’t know me assume that I have kids. My friends just think I’m nuts. The reality of the situation is that I like to work. My hobbies are food and theater. Food costs money, theater can cost money, and I can’t (yet) do both of those things all the time. Add to that the fact that most of my friends seem to be working the same schedule I do, my days off are generally spent by myself. Not that I mind that, but I’m actually a very social person. I actually had someone tell me I’m single because I work to much. Even though I told him that I AM seeing someone right now. The trick is to find someone who works just as much as you do (they tend to be more understanding)

Anyway! I digress. This is a food blog, right? I actually went to the store last week for this recipe, but I didn’t have time to make it last week (which is the point of my rambling).

Grilled Tofu over Tikka Masala

I really love Chicken Tikka Masala, it may be my most favorite Indian dish. This one isn’t a true Tikka Masala only because I didn’t have fresh ginger and even though I swore up and down that I had cardamom and coriander, I couldn’t find either of them among my spices. So the flavor of the sauce isn’t 100% like the original, it is still very good. I found a recipe on epicurious and tried to follow that as much as possible. I ended up having to add more spices at the end to make the flavor that much better.

Here’s what to get from the store:

Extra Firm Tofu
Heavy Cream
Chickpeas
Onion
Tomato sauce
Lentils
Cumin
Paprika
Ginger
Nutmeg
Curry Powder
Tumeric

Chickpea Tikka Masala with Grilled Tofu and Lentils

For the tofu:

Extra firm tofu
Seaseme oil
Lemon Juice
Apple Cider Vinegar
Siracha
Honey
2 cloves garlic
Curry Powder
Tumeric

For the sauce

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1 tablespoon ground ginger
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
1 large white onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 cups canned tomato sauce
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup heavy cream or half-and-half
1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 can chickpeas, drained

For the lentils

1 cup lentils
1 cup vegetable broth

  1. Marinate your tofu: Mix the ingredients together in a small bowl. Slice the tofu into squares and put into a dish. Pour the marinade over, cover and put in the fridge.
  2. While the tofu is marinating, work on your sauce. In a small bowl, whisk together the coriander, cumin, cardamom, nutmeg, paprika, cayenne, and grated ginger.
  3. In a heavy, wide 4-quart pot or sauté pan over moderately high heat, melt the butter. Add the onion and sauté, stirring occasionally, until light brown and caramelized, about 5 minutes.
  4. Reduce the heat to moderate then stir in the spice and ginger mixture. Add the tomato purée, water, heavy cream, and salt, and bring the sauce to a boil. Reduce the heat to gently simmer the sauce, uncovered, until thickened slightly, about 10 minutes. Taste for seasoning, add some more if you feel it is off. I added more paprika, cumin, curry powder and tumeric. Add the chickpeas right at the end.
  5. While your sauce is cooking, cook the lentils. Boil them in water until most of the water is cooked out. Add the broth and cook down a little more. Add salt.
  6. While the sauce is reducing, grill your tofu. Pre heat your grill pan and cook only a few pieces at a time. They will cook very quickly, make sure to turn every few moments to get an even char and good grill marks.
  7. To serve: Pour the sauce over the lentils then add your tofu. If you wish, serve with naan bread.

I’m going to try putting pictures with my posts to help get some more readers, Shawn suggested it and I think it’s a good idea. I’ll still be posting them on instagram, but you may noticed pictures popping up on older posts as well.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Creamy Goodness!”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

[…] recipe uses the left over tofu from the Tikka Masala I made earlier on in the week with a few added ingredients. Cook time was just under twenty […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

