Doesn’t Have to be Hard

Posted on June 13, 2015. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , |

Good food doesn’t have to be hard, and healthy food doesn’t have to be boring. I feel like people forget those things quite a bit. I try to live my food life pretty simply, even though it doesn’t really look like it sometimes. Good food can actually be very easy and very healthy. The salad I make for myself most days is very easy (just some chopping), very healthy, and very delicious.

The biggest excuse I hear from a lot of people is that they don’t have time to cook healthy, fast food is easier and quicker. While on the surface that’s true, all you need is a little bit of planning. I always have bananas, apples and Greek yogurt in my fridge. Those are quick snacks that are more healthy than fast food and even cheaper. Not only that, but fruit and anything filled with fiber or protein will fill you up more than the burger you would be eating. That, and you don’t have to refrigerate apples and bananas so it’s perfect if you don’t work in a place with a fridge.

Today’s recipe uses the left over tofu from the Tikka Masala I made earlier on in the week with a few added ingredients. Cook time was just under twenty minutes.

Grilled Tofu Skewers over Chopped Spinach

Here’s what to get from the store (assuming you have left over tofu and Tikka Masala sauce)

Mini Sweet Peppers
Red Onion
Button Mushrooms
Fresh Spinach
Radishes
Lemon Juice

Grilled Tofu Skewers Over Spinach

Marinated Tofu
Mini Sweet Peppers, Halved
Button Mushrooms, Halved
Red Onion
Tikka Masala Sauce
Spinach, Diced
Radish, Chopped
Lemon Juice
Salt and Pepper

  1. Put the mushrooms, peppers, red onion and tofu on skewers. Place on pre heated grilled pan, turning every few moments to grill evenly on each side.
  2. While the skewers are cooking, dress the spinach in lemon juice, salt and pepper and mix with the radishes.
  3. Once the skewers are almost done cooking, baste both sides with the Tikka Masala sauce and grill a little longer.
  4. Remove everything from the skewers and add to the spinach.

I love grilling peppers because it brings out the sweetness of the peppers and while adding that beautiful grilled chard flavor we all love.

I remember when I used to get filled up by a recipe like this, but not so much anymore. I had grapes for dessert for dessert and now I’m full (so much fiber!) but it won’t last terribly long, I’ll probably have to bring a smoothie to work with me tonight.

This coming week I have two whole days off, even though I want to pick up shifts I’m trying to make myself take at least one day just for myself. We’ll see what happens…I really need to go to the beach….

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

