Spike Spike Spike!

Posted on June 18, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I did it, I got rid of my microwave today. Considering I haven’t used it since at least January, why keep it around? It’s in a better place for other people to use it. I now have a ton more room in on my kitchen counters for other activities. I found a few spiders behind the thing, but hey, who cares about the tiny roommates?

I love artichokes hearts, they’re fantastic. The first time I had them was in a spinach artichoke dip. Weirdly enough it was the first time I’d liked cooked spinach. Artichoke hearts have a light sweet flavor that adds so much with so little. I’ve always bought the hearts in a can because the entire vegetable can be very hard to work with. This time I decided to try again, after watching an episode of Diners Drive ins and Dives, where they boiled then grilled the artichokes. I think the trick is to boil them for much longer than you think. (I’m pretty impatient with stuff like that). That and you have to remember the outside leaves aren’t as good to eat (or as easy).

Grilled Artichokes with Chiplote Aioli

Here’s what to get from the store:
Artichokes
Canned Chiplote Peppers
Limes

Grilled Artichokes with Chiplote Aioli

For the Artichokes

1 Artichoke
Olive Oil
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Cayenne Pepper, Paprika

For the Aioli

1 Egg
2 Chiplotes from the can
Zest and Juice of 1 lime
Salt, Pepper, Cilantro
1/2 Cup Olive Oil

  1. Clip the spiky tops of the leaves and cut the artichoke in half. Scrape the fibers from the middle. Boil in salted water for 20 minutes.
  2. While the artichokes are boiling, make the aioli. Put the egg, cbiplote, zest, juice and seasonings in a blender. Blend until smooth, then slowly add in the oil to make an emulsion. Put in the fridge.
  3. Once the artichokes are boiled, put them on a paper towel to get the extra water. Marinate in olive oil, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne, and paprika. Grill on your pre heated grill pan until grill marks appear on both sides. Serve with the aioli.

So, one of my other wisdom teeth is coming in and it’s just annoying me. My mouth hurts and I feel like I can’t chew on one side of my mouth. I know I need to go to the dentist, I just haven’t had time. I thought I was done with tooth pain, but I guess not.

I’ve been trying to be more social but it’s been proving hard, and I hate it. I’m such a social person and being cooped up here in my place or at work has been really hard.

Also, I need to get new bedding for my hedgehog…this stuff does NOT keep the smell down.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Spike Spike Spike!”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

[…] the store this week (Under $10 food budget this week!) because I had everything else to make the Grilled Artichokes I made earlier in the week. I really didn’t wan to go to the store again this week, I can […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

