On Fire

Posted on June 20, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

You know what utensil I use the most? Spoons. Every time I put dishes away, it’s mostly spoons. I really didn’t think I had even noticed it until I opened my silverware drawer and noticed I had no spoons in there. They were all in the drying rack from using them for sauces, peanut butters, oils…you name it. Maybe I should get more spoons? (Nope…don’t want to do more dishes)

When I opened my fridge yesterday to make my salad, I noticed I had enough spinach for 1 salad and 1 smoothie and that’s it. It’s all because I decided to only get oil, limes and chiplote peppers from the store this week (Under $10 food budget this week!) because I had everything else to make the Grilled Artichokes I made earlier in the week. I really didn’t wan to go to the store again this week, I can just go on Monday. I just had to have enough food to get me through till Monday after work. I had those mini peppers, left over Tikka Masala sauce, the rest of those chiplotes, quiona and some sour cream. What I came up with was 1 meal for today and 1 meal for tomorrow. I made extra of the filling from this recipe because it can stand on it’s own as a meal, and that’s what I’ll eat tomorrow.

Grilled Stuffed Mini Peppers with a Chiplote Sour Cream Sauce

Here’s what to get from the store: (If you didn’t do this week’s recipes)
Mini Sweet Peppers
Quiona
Kale
Tikka Masala
Onion
Chiplote Peppers in a can
Sour Cream

Grilled Stuffed Mini Peppers

1 cup quiona, prepared
1/2 cup Tikka Masala
Kale, chopped
1 tbsp red onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, smashed
5 button mushrooms, chopped
2 fresh basil leaves
Salt and pepper
Balsamic Vinegar
Chiplote Sour  Cream Sauce (Recipe Below)

  1. Soak and cook your quiona like you always do. Once it is cooked, add the tikka masala sauce in and set aside.
  2. Sweat down the red onion and garlic until fragrant. Add in the mushrooms with a dash of balsamic vinegar and cook down some more.
  3. Add the kale and basil and cook until kale is cooked down. Add salt, pepper, and more vinegar if needed. Add the quiona and stir.
  4. Cut the tops of the peppers off and clean out the inside. Fill with the filling and place on the grill, grilling on each side so they get grill marks.
  5. Serve with Chiplote Sauce

Chiplote Sour Cream Sauce

1 can chiplote peppers, chopped
2 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped
1/4 dry white wine
1 cup sour cream
Salt and Pepper

  1. Saute the garlic until fragrant. Add the peppers, with their sauce (you can leave this out to make the sauce less spicy) and the white wine. Cook down a little then add the sour cream, salt and pepper.
  2. Once the cream has melted, put the sauce in the blender to blend everything together. Serve with the peppers.

It’s funny how fast some things end. I was only upset for a day though, which is good. No use being upset about the past, just look on towards the future.

My abs actually hurt this morning, and I’m not sure if it was yesterday’s yoga practice or my dancing at the Energy Commission concert last night. Either way, it feels really good. I have never been so in tune with my muscles as I have in the past few months and I have to say it’s great. Nothing can be better.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

