Full of Potato

Posted on June 25, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

Being a single, almost 30 woman with a weird work schedule; getting time off for friends is hard, but getting time for myself is even harder. A lot of people think that being alone means that one is lonely, but that’s not really the case. Being alone with yourself can be great, as long as you’re enjoying yourself as a person.

Today was my day off and I’ve been wanting to go to the beach for a while and I finally got a chance today. The weather was perfect for just sitting on the beach with a book, so that’s what I did. I was probably out there for 3 hours, just reading, watching and venturing into the lake when a bee decided I was it’s best friend. (I don’t mind spiders, but if it flies and possibly stings, I will run). It was really relaxing looking out at the lake, or back at the trees. Even driving through the woods to get to the beach was relaxing. Even though I love the city, I have always felt the most relaxed in the middle of trees.

After a relaxing day, I was STARVING. I’ve been thinking about making sweet potato gnocchi for the past week, and since it takes a little longer than other recipes, today was the perfect day. I had never made this before, and I was really surprised how easy it really was. Gnocchi is a potato based pasta, so it’s much more filling than the normal flour based pasta.

I used the gnocchi recipe from Giada De Laurentiis and based my brown butter sauce off a Mario Batali recipe.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Asparagus and Cheese "Chips"

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet Potato
Ricotta
Safe
Unsalted Butter
Asparagus
Shallotts
4 cheese Italian Blend Cheese

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

2 pounds sweet potatoes
2/3 cup whole milk ricotta cheese
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus 1/3 cup for the work surface

  1.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Pierce the sweet potato with a fork. Bake the sweet potatoes until tender and fully cooked, between 40 to 55 minutes depending on size. Cool slightly.
  2. Cut in half and scoop the flesh into a large bowl. Mash the sweet potatoes and transfer to a large measuring cup to make sure the sweet potatoes measure about 2 cups. Transfer the mashed sweet potatoes back to the large bowl.
  3. Add the ricotta cheese, salt, cinnamon, and pepper and blend until well mixed. Add the flour, 1/2 cup at a time until a soft dough forms. Lightly flour a work surface and place the dough in a ball on the work surface. Divide the dough into 6 equal balls. Roll out each ball into a 1-inch wide rope. Cut each rope into 1-inch pieces. Roll the gnocchi over the tines of a fork. Transfer the formed gnocchi to a large baking sheet. Continue with the remaining gnocchi.
  4. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the gnocchi in 3 batches and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 5 to 6 minutes. Drain the gnocchi using a slotted spoon onto a baking sheet. Tent with foil to keep warm and continue with the remaining gnocchi.

Brown Butter Sage Sauce

4 tablespoons butter
8 sage leaves
1/2 lemon, juiced
1 Shallot, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
Asparagus, chopped and cooked
  1. While your pasta cooks, melt butter in a 12 to 14-inch saute pan and continue cooking until golden brown color (“noisette”) appears in the thinnest liquid of the butter. Add sage leaves, garlic and shallots and remove from heat. Add lemon juice and set aside. Drain the pasta, but leaving some cooking water, and gently pour into saute pan and return to heat. Add the cheese and asparagus, toss to coat and serve immediately.

Cheese “Chips”

4 cheese Italian Blend (I used Belgiouso)

  1. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray and pre heat your oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Mound the cheese into a small pile on the sheet and put in the oven. Bake until the outsides are golden brown and the middle is bubbly. Add to the top of the pasta as a garnish.

Tomorrow, after a year and a half, I’ll be getting my Saturn, Ringo, back. I was about to give up on it being fixed, but dad didn’t and I’m grateful. I made him something for Father’s day, but I’m going to wait on that recipe until he gets them tomorrow.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Full of Potato”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

[…] like experimenting with food, cause, why not? I had a LOT of gnocchi dough left over from my gnocchi with brown butter sauce from last week and I wasn’t sure what to do with it. I had  seen gnocchi mac and cheese a […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

