Sweet Bars

Posted on June 28, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

There are a few food things I just don’t like; chocolate chips in bread items (they don’t melt right!), breakfast casseroles, and copycat restaurant items (there IS better food than chain restaurant copycats, people). Other than that, I’m not picky. I find that strange because both my parents are a little picky (mom more than dad, but they both still have things they just won’t eat). And, in later years, I’ve been having trouble figuring out what to get them for different occasions. (Old people are hard to buy for, they already have so much stuff!) But, since I made my mom her favorite candy for mother’s day, I decided to do the same for my dad. His favorite candy is the 3 Musketeer’s bar; I don’t blame him, they are pretty tasty.

I like the recipe I found, but the filling on mine didn’t turn out as fluffy as I would have liked. This is a VERY rich candy because of that, I’m not sure if you can eat more than one at a time. But, it’s a very easy recipe too and I love that. (Note, she used a microwave, but since I got rid of mine, I used double boilers to melt the chocolate, works the same)

Homemade 3 Musketeer's

Here’s what to get from the store:

Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
Cool Whip
Candy Shell

3 Musketeer’s Bars
(From Monster Mama)

2 c semi sweet choc chips
1 (8oz) tub of Cool Whip (thawed but not melted)
2 c choc  candy coating wafer melts

  1. Line a 8″ square pan with wax paper. In medium bowl, melt choc chips in microwave at 50% power for 30 seconds. Stir and return to microwave  for 30 more seconds at 50% power. If chocolate is still not melted completely – continue heating it at 10 second intervals at 50% until smooth. Let it cool a bit so you don’t melt everything into a sludge.
  2. Using an electric mixer on high speed, beat your melted chocolate for 30 seconds. Add the Cool Whip to melted chocolate and beat just until combined and fluffy -30-60 seconds. Spread evenly into prepared 8×8′ pan. Place in freezer for about 30 minutes (overnight might even be better).
  3. Remove from freezer, remove candy from pan and cut into squares. Return back to freezer. I worked in small doses so I could keep them hard and easier to work with.
  4. Melt candy wafers in microwave following package directions. Take out frozen squares and dip into melted chocolate. Place on baking tray lined with wax paper. Allow chocolate to set up in refrigerator or freezer. Store in airtight container in refrigerator or freezer.

This past Friday, the 26th, marriage equality was voted into law by the Supreme Court. This is a big deal and I’m very glad that all humans are allowed to marry. Equality is such an important thing, and now we are closer to that.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

