Delisious and Patriotic

Posted on July 7, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I don’t generally take off holidays that my stores aren’t closed for. There’s a few reasons; when I was growing up we would do things but nothing huge, and working the shifts no one else wants actually pays off. That being said, I generally don’t have to work the whole day. This past 4th I worked the morning shift and had plans to hang out with Chelsea and hopefully watch the fireworks. I’ve been wanting to make sangria for a while, but the legend of my sangria makes it hard for other people to drink it. (The hangovers aren’t pretty with sweet drinks).

I wanted to do a Red, White, and Blue sangria, but I ended up putting orange juice in it, so it turned out to be red, orange, and blue. Nothing wrong with that, tasted fantastic. I still had some left over with a lot of the fruit that I soaked it in, so I decided to make a balsamic fruit dessert as well, because I woke up from a nap slightly inspired.

Both recipes are very easy and end up being lovely.

Patriotic Sangria              Balsamic Roasted Strawberries and Blueberries with a spicy sweet sauce and cinnamon Pita Chips

Here’s what to get from the store:

White Wine, (your choice, I got a dry)
Triple Sec
Strawberry Vodka
Orange Juice
Sprite
Strawberries
Blueberries
Fresh Basil
Balsamic Vinegar
Pita
Brown sugar
Honey

Patrotic Sangria

1 Large Bottle White Wine
1 Cup Triple Sec
1 Cup Strawberry Vodka
1 Cup Orange Juice
2 Cups Sprite (Or half a 2 liter)
Strawberries
Blueberries

  1. Layer the strawberries and blueberries in the bottom of a large container or pitcher. I did strawberries then blueberries then strawberries again.
  2. Pour all the liquids into the pitcher and mix slightly. Sore overnight in the fridge to help the flavors marry together. Serve chilled with the fruit in a glass.

Balsamic Roasted Strawberries and Blueberries

Strawberries
Blueberries
1 Cup Brown Sugar
Drizzle of Honey
Drizzle of Balsamic
Cayanne Pepper
Ladelful of the sangria with the fruit
Pita bread
Cinnamon
Fresh Basil

  1. Put the brown sugar into a skillet and stir until just melted. Add the honey and balsamic to cook down. Add the fruit and coat.
  2. Once the sauce has cooked down a little, put a ladle worth of sangria with that fruit in with the other mixture and cook down some more. With a slotted spoon take the fruit out of the skillet and put it in a bowl. Add some cayanne pepper and let reduce.
  3. While the sauce is reducing, spread olive oil and cinnamon on both side of a pita bread and cook in a 350 degree oven until both sides are brown. Cut into chips, put in the bowl with the fruit mixture. Pour the reduced sauce over the fruit and add sliced fresh basil.

I’m pretty exhausted from this past weekend and I’m going to be more tired after this week. My birthday is Wednesday and I’m taking 2 days to celebrate because, hey, I’m turning 30 and that’s kind of  a big deal. I’m pretty excited, I don’t know why people are so afraid to get older.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    July 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

