Red-y for a burger

Posted on July 16, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

Haha…I really like puns, they’re stupid but amazing. My first burlesque show, Holy Bouncing Boobies will ALWAYS be my favorite because of all the puns (it’s based on Adam West after all).

My birthday last week was interesting. Shawn was the only one who could come to dinner on my birthday, and since she doesn’t drink, she took me to see a movie instead of the bars. Saturday I went to the city with Chelsea and Jenna, met Shawn and Petra, and had a good time. It was a LONG night, but good.

With all the busy-ness of the weekend, I just wanted to chill out and take a breather. Sadly, that wasn’t really until tonight, and even then I’ve been running my butt off because Victoria is coming up tomorrow and I want to be ready for her.

Last week I saw a recipe for a roasted beet burger, and after seeing how successful Shawn was with some sweet potato burgers she made for her birthday party, I thought, why not? I was actually expecting this to be a little harder than it actually was.

Now, I’ve never had beets before today, but that didn’t really stop me. What I discovered is that they have a very earthy flavor, and they really do just die everything red. Luckily my cutting board is already red….

The recipe I found was pretty good, I added a little mozzarella cheese and instead of the tahini sauce and crispy kale, I did radishes, tomato, spinach and a siracha lime aioli.

Roasted Beet Burger

Here’s what to get from the store:

Beets
Brown Rice
Chickpea
Thyme
Bun

Roasted Beet Burger
(From She Likes Food)

3½ – 4 cups peeled and chopped beets, once baked it will be about 1½ cups
1 cup cooked brown rice
1-15 ounce can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
Cummin, Tumeric, Ginger, White pepper, Paprika

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees F. Place the diced beets onto a large sheetpan and drizzle with a little bit if olive oil and season with a pinch of salt and pepper. Roast beets for about 40-45 minutes, until they are cooked through. Let cool for about 10 minutes.
  2. In a food processor, add the beets, chickpeas, brown rice, thyme, balsamic vinegar, garlic, salt, and pepper. Process ingredients for about 15-30 seconds until everything is mixed together. You don’t want to process until ingredients form a paste, just until everything comes together.
  3. Form the mixture into patties, you will get about 6-8 depending on how big you make them. Place patties on a large baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Place baking sheet in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes, this will make it easier for you to handle them when cooking.
  4. To cook beet burgers, place a large pan over medium heat and coat the bottom with olive oil. Once the pan is hot, add the beet burgers and cook for about 3-5 minutes on each side.

Sometimes I think I need another vacation, then my brain goes “nah, just keep working” then I can’t talk when I’m trying to serve my tables because I’ve been talking way to much…common problem. I think I have an actual day off next week sometime….

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    July 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

