Centered Garden

Posted on July 28, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I’ve found it’s very important to find a way to be centered. I’ve talked about my yoga practice before; but not in too much depth. I didn’t realize how much I needed it until last week. I worked a little too much and had some social obligations that took away my time to practice. Instead of my normal 5 or 6 days, I only got 2. By the end of Saturday my legs were hurting. By Sunday, I wasn’t sure if I could get through today and Tuesday. By the time I got off work today, all I wanted to do was sleep, but I couldn’t. (Laundry!) But before the chores I did my yoga, and I’m really glad I was able to. My energy level is back where it should be, and my legs don’t hurt at all.

Because I was so busy last week, I didn’t have time to cook either. I was kind of bummed because my parents gave me a bunch of their broccoli from their garden and I really wanted to use it. On top of that, Shawn gave me some fresh fennel and artisan lettuce from a local farm, Creme de la Crop, that trades fresh veggies for work. I’ve actually never had fennel before, but I know it can be braised. For some reason, I decided a flat bread with braised fennel and fresh broccoli sounded fantastic. You know what? I was right.

This recipe is very easy, and, if you substitute vegan cheese for the cheese I used, it’s vegan. Once again, I made too much and only used half of the flat bread I made for the recipe. I’m going to cut it into strips for snacks later. (I really like snacking.)

Braised Fennel Flatbread with Garden Fresh Broccoli

Here’s what to get from the store (If you don’t have free veggies)

Fennel (bulbs and leaves)
Whole wheat flour
Fresh BroccoliVeggie broth
Mozzerella cheese
Parmesean Cheese

Whole Wheat Flatbread
(From SparkPeople)
2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp olive Oil
1 cup hot water

  1. Combine all ingredients. Stir and then knead the dough until smooth. Let it rest for 30 minutes covered and away from drafts.
  2. Roll out the dough and then cut out with glass or cookie cutter circles or pat the circles into shape.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for about15 minutes until almost done, then transfer to the grill to get some nice grill marks.

Braised Fennel
(From Epicurious)

2 fennel bulbs (sometimes called anise; 10 to 12 oz each) with fronds
1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup Veggie Broth
1/4 cup water

  1. Cut off and discard stalks from fennel bulbs, reserving fronds. Chop 1 tablespoon fronds and discard remainder. Cut bulbs lengthwise into 1/2-inch-thick slices, leaving core intact.
  2. Heat oil in a 12-inch heavy skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then brown fennel slices well, turning over once, 3 to 4 minutes total.
  3. Reduce heat to low. Sprinkle fennel with salt and pepper, then add broth and water. Cook, covered, until fennel is tender, 10 to 12 minutes. Sprinkle with fennel fronds.

Braised Fennel and Fresh Broccoli Flatbread

1 recipe flatbread
Braised Fennel
Fresh Broccoli, Chopped
Olive Oil
3 cloves garlic, smashed
Siracha
Balsamic Vinegar
Mozzarella Cheese
Parmesan Cheese

  1. Whisk the vinegar, oil, garlic and Sriracha together. Spread on the bottom of the cooked flat bread. Add the fennel, broccoli and the mozzarella cheese. Cook in a 350 degree oven until the cheese is melted, then add the Parmesan and melt some more. Cut into slices and serve.

When I was in college I used to get tension headaches pretty regularly. I don’t stress out mentally very often, so most of my stress materializes physically. It starts with knots in my shoulder and underneath my shoulder blades, moves up to my neck, then the headache starts. I hadn’t actually had one in a very long time, but last week I had a few. The show I’m working on is getting very close to tech week so my work is getting a little hefty. But, even when it gets difficult, I love being a stage manager. I could be in the worst mood ever and walk into a space and instantly feel better. I feel so lucky that I have found something that I love so much.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    July 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

