Calm before the Storm

Posted on August 4, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

For the past 6 weeks or so, I’ve been in rehearsal for the next show I’m working with at Gorilla Tango. I’ve also been working my full time at 2 jobs. So, what that means is that I’ve been at 1, maybe 2 rehearsals a week. Today I was on call at work till about 6 (and I didn’t know I’d be done for sure until I called in) and by that time I knew I’d get there too late. Luckily I’m 1/2 of the dream team, so Serina has stepped up and has been able to go to more rehearsals than I have.

However, next week is tech week. For a stage manager, that is the most stressful (and in my mind, most fun) part of the rehearsal process. All of the lights, sounds, costumes and set pieces are added in their entirety and it starts to look like a real show. This means I’ll be up there pretty much every day next week. Which means I’ll be exhausted. (Ok, more exhausted, am I getting sick? Who knows)

With that being said, once I figured out I was off call, I knew I had to eat something. My dad’s garden has produced a TON of vegetables this year. Mostly lettuce, and broccoli. I’ll be getting some cucumbers and tomatoes later on in the week, but right now I have a ton of broccoli. I wanted to do something different than just roasting it or putting it in my salad. I’ve seen a recipe for broccoli tots on pinterest a few times and thought I’d give it a try. I created my own recipe instead of using one that I found.

This recipe is good if you have kids that don’t like broccoli (I’m not sure what that’s like, it’s always been my favorite vegetable) because it doesn’t really look like broccoli, and honestly, doesn’t taste or smell too much like it anymore either.

Broccoli Tots with Dijon Siracha Aioli

Here’s what to get from the store:

Fresh Broccoli
Brown Rice
Panko
Garlic
Eggs
Thyme

Broccoli Tots

1 Head Fresh Broccoli
1/4 cup cooked brown rice
1/4 cup panko
2 eggs
3 cloves garlic
2 sprigs Thyme
1/4 cup mozzarella
Salt, Pepper, Cayenne

  1. Chop the head of broccoli and blanch it in boiling water for 1 minute. Drain and rinse in cold water to stop the cooking process.
  2. Put the broccoli in a food processor and pulse to cut up. Add broccoli, brown rice, garlic and thyme and pulse to mix. You want to have some texture, so don’t chop too much.
  3. Move the broccoli mixture to a bowl; add panko, eggs, spices, cheese and mix. If the mixture is too dry, you can add another egg, but you should be fine.
  4. Form the tots and put on a greased cookie sheet. Bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 14 minutes on each side. Serve drizzled with siracha and the Dijon Siracha Aioli. (Unless it’s for kids, then just use ketchup!)

Dijon Siracha Aioli

1 egg
3 cloves garlic
1 tbsp Dijon Mustard
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp Siracha
Salt, Pepper, Cilantro
1/2 cup Olive Oil

  1. Put the egg, garlic, mustard, lemon juice, Siracha, and spices in the bottom of a blender. Blend to make an emulsion.
  2. While blending, slowly drizzle the oil into the mixture until thick and light colored. Taste to adjust seasoning. Serve with tots (or anything, really). Keep refrigerated.

I saw an article today about a few big food companies taking a lot of the harmful chemicals out of their food items. When I originally went mostly non-processed, it was more for financial reasons than health (even though I knew it would be better for me). It is encouraging to me to see that big named companies  (Kraft, Pizza Hut, and Subway, to name a few) are working to make their food better for everyone. While I probably won’t go back to buying their products regularly, I know that in the future, eating them won’t be as bad for me as they used to.It also makes me hopeful that as a society we’ll be trying to eat a little better.

I want us as a people to feel better on the inside because it really does make them feel better about other things. I’ve been seeing so much negativity recently and while it hasn’t affected me as much, it does bother me that so many people I know feel so badly. I may not be the most optimistic person out there, but I do like to see the good things in life. All the beauty around me still hasn’t been dulled by the negativity I’ve seen. I hope one day that more people can feel this way as well.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    August 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

