Let out your Inner Artist

Posted on August 6, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

Do yourself a favor. Once a month, instead of following a recipe, or looking up dish ideas on Pinterest, or just giving up and ordering pizza; open your cabinets and just make something with things you find there. Chances are; you actually have a lot of ingredients for a bunch of different tasty dinners.

This will help you in a bunch of different ways; it’ll help you clean out food that you haven’t known what to do with, and it will open up the creative part of your mind.

Cooking has been a big creative outlet for me for a long time. Most of my work employs the logical part of my mind, and I do love it, but everyone needs a creative outlet. While music can be that for me, I was never good at improvising and that’s what I need sometimes. But when I’m in the kitchen, I feel like an improvising master. Everything I do just makes sense. This came over time, though. I’ve learned so much in the past two years that has been beneficial to my food. Sure, I’ve made some mistakes, but everyone does. I remember trying to cook a pork chop in college and accidentally dumping WAY too much pepper on it and WAY to much Worcestershire sauce. It was pretty terrible. But, that was a learning experience. Let everything you do be a learning experience.

I was going to write the recipe for the risotto I made, but that would be competently besides the point. Following instructions is great for some things, but they don’t always get your creative side moving. So, this is the prod to get your creative side moving. Have fun. Make mistakes. Use too much pepper. Have fun.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    August 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

