I’m Pickled to Meet You!

Posted on August 16, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I actually made these a week ago and I WAS going to write the post last Sunday, but they weren’t ready to eat yet and I can’t write a post about a recipe I haven’t actually eaten yet. Add to the long days I had with tech week and two jobs, I didn’t have time to write the post until today.

My parent’s garden kinda exploded vegetables these past few weeks. I have SO MANY in my fridge right now and my mom still wants me to take more. I gave some broccoli to Shawn, but I still have 4 cucumbers and who knows how much lettuce and broccoli. Since this first batch of pickles worked out so well, I’m going to get some more Ball Jars and try a few other recipes.

I’ve given away most of the jars, I think I only have 1 or 2 left, and everyone who’s tried them has said they’re fantastic. For that being my very first batch of anything pickled, I find that a huge compliment.

This recipe is more about waiting than anything else; the prep work only took as long to boil the water. There is one important thing to know, the type of salt you use is very important. My grocery store didn’t have pickling salt so I got kosher salt instead and that is one of the few salts that you can safely swap with pickling salt.

Garlic Dill Pickles

Here’s what to get from the store (If you didn’t get free cucumbers)

Cucumbers
Garlic
Apple Cider Vinegar
Black Peppercorns
Dill Seed
Red Pepper Flakes
Canning or Kosher Salt

Garlic Dill Pickle
(From The Kitchn)

2 pounds Kirby cucumbers
1 1/2 cups apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons pickling salt
6 garlic cloves, peeled (2 per jar)
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper per jar (3/4 teaspoons total)
1 teaspoon dill seed per jar (3 teaspoons total)
1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns per jar (1 1/2 teaspoons total)

  1. Wash and slice the cucumbers.
  2. In a large saucepot, combine vinegar, water and salt. Bring to a simmer.
  3. Arrange jars on counter and dole out the spices to each. Pack the cucumber slices firmly into the jars. You don’t want to damage the cukes, but you do want them packed tight.
  4. Pour the brine into the jar, leaving approximately ½ inch headspace.
  5. Tap jars gently on countertop to dislodge any trapped air bubbles.
  6. Apply lids and let jars cool. When they’ve returned to room temperature, place jars in refrigerator. Let them sit for at least 48 hours before eating.

Last week was very hard for me. I know I have some decisions to make. I want to thank everyone who has listened to me and given me suggestions.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    August 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

