Comfortably Healthy

Posted on August 28, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

After the past few weeks, and the chilly weather earlier on in the week, I was really wanting some comfort food. Today was finally my first actual day off with (almost) no social things (Shawn did come over for this food) and no work. I woke up to a request to pick up a shift, but I promised myself I wouldn’t do that.I stayed in bed till almost 1, had a great yoga practice, and got some chores done. All day I was looking forward to this dinner.

I really wanted Mac and Cheese and was going to just make regular mac and cheese, but for some reason, I didn’t want to use noodles. If you know me, you know I like my comfort food and desserts in their normal unhealthy form. But, non the less, I decided to switch out the noddles for cauliflower. I was just going to boil it, but Shawn suggested I roast it instead. I already had the chickpeas roasting, so why not? Roasting was a lot better than boiling, for sure. Boiling vegetables seems to take a lot of the crunchy texture out of them.

This recipe is super easy but full of flavor. I topped it with some buffalo roasted chickpeas that added just enough spice.

Roasted Cauliflower Mac and Cheese with Buffalo Roasted Chickpeas

Here’s what to get from the store:

Cauliflower
Whole Milk
Shallots
Shredded Sharp Cheddar
Chickpeas
Buffalo Sauce
Greek Yogurt
Goat Cheese
Bleu Cheese

Roasted Cauliflower Mac and Cheese

1 head cauliflower, diced
2 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
1 shallot, diced
2 cloves garlic, smashed
2 1/2 tbsp flour
2 cups whole milk
2 cups shredded sharp cheddar
Olive Oil
Salt, pepper, tumeric, curry powder, paprika

  1. Coat the cauliflower in olive oil, salt, pepper, tumeric, curry powder and paprika. Roast in a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until brown.
  2. Make your cheese sauce: melt the butter in a pan then add the shallots. Saute until translucent then add the garlic. Once cooked, add the flour. Stir until the flour soaks up the butter and turns a light brown.
  3. Add the milk and let thicken, stirring constantly.
  4. Once the sauce is thickened, add the cheese, a little at a time to melt. Add the cauliflower and coat. Top with bleu cheese, goat cheese, kale, and buffalo roasted chickpeas (recipe below)

Buffalo Roasted Chickpeas

1 can chickpeas, drained
Olive Oil
Salt, pepper, tumeric, curry powder, paprika.
Buffalo sauce
2 tbsp of Greek Yogurt

  1. Coat the chickpeas in olive oil and the spices. Roast in a 375 degree oven on a cookie sheet for 30 minutes until crunchy.
  2. Once cooled, toss in the buffalo sauce and Greek yogurt. Add as a garnish to the mac and cheese.

Last night and today were exactly what I needed. I drove up to watch a play festival that I had worked on before, and got to hang out with some of the women I had worked with at Prologue theater. I’ve always felt a friendly connection to them, and being in an actual theater always makes me feel so much better. When you ever hear of people getting a rush from what they love, theater is that for me. Even though I get distracted by the technical side of things when I’m watching a show, it all makes me so much happier.

I know I’ve said this before, but I still can’t get used to waking up with a flat stomach. I actually took a picture today and compared it to a picture I took a few months ago, and I can see why people keep telling me I look slim. It really has taken me such a long time to see the changes, but after today, I can. My hard work has paid off, and I know that others hard work can pay off. But, it is important to realize that what I do is great for me, but it may not be as great for you. Find the routine that works for you. Don’t give up.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    August 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

