Taco….Thursday?

Posted on September 4, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

..What, it works, right? I actually have tacos on Tuesday, but that’s besides the point.

I was talking wit a co worker the other day and telling her how I don’t buy meat to keep my grocery bill down. Her response was “Aren’t vegetables expensive?” That made me realize that most people still assume that eating healthy is still really expensive. It doesn’t have to be. My grocery bill is between $30 and $50 a week, depending on if I buy beer and what I’m making for the week. That gets me about a week and a half worth breakfast (banana), the salad I eat most days, and another dinner that gets me at least two servings. The expensive part of eating healthy is really all the processed foods that claim their health; I can get more fruits and veggies for what I would spend on the other processed foods; I feel way better, AND I eat pretty good.

I had a real problem coming up with what I wanted to make this week. Normally I know what I want for the next meal as soon as I’ve finished the first. Tuesday came around and all I could think of was “TACOS”. I don’t know if I’ve seen this recipe on Pinterest somewhere or what, but the idea of sweet potato tacos sounded amazing.

This recipe takes some time, but if you prep all your ingredients before you start cooking, that will help streamline your process.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Tacos with home made tortilla chips and roasted salsa

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet Potato
Black Beans
Goat Cheese
Jalepeno
Avocado
Lemon
Greek Yogurt
Tomato
Poblano
Red Onion

Avocado Cream

1/2 Avocado
1/2 cup (or more) of unflavored Greek Yogurt
1 tsp lemon zest
Juice from 1/2 lemon
Salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, cilantro

  1. Mash the avocado in a bowl, add the yogurt, lemon juice and zest, and spices. Mix until incorporated. Taste to adjust flavor.

Roasted Poblano Salsa

1 Poblano
2 Jalepeno
2 tbsp red onion
4 tomatoes
Salt, Pepper

  1. Slice the tomato, arrange on a cookie sheet and cover it with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast in the oven at 325 for 10 minutes, or until almost cooked through. Place in a bowl.
  2. Roast the peppers over the burner until cooked through, dice and add to the tomatoes.
  3. Add the onion and spices, mix, and put in a ball jar.

Tortilla Chips

4 tortillas, cut into 8ths
Olive Oil
Salt, pepper, paprika

  1. Cover the tortilla chips with oil and seasons, arrange on a cookie sheet, and cook in the oven at 325 for 10 minutes, or until browned.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Tacos

1 sweet potato, cut into chunks
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 tbsp onion, diced
Splash of Triple Sec
Splash of Orange Juice
Salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, cilantro
Black Beans
Spinach
Avocado Cream
Tortillas
Goat Cheese
1 jalapeno, diced

  1. Saute the potato until almost cooked through. Add half the onion onion and garlic.
  2. Once the onion and garlic are cooked through, add a splash of triple sec and orange juice. Cover the pan and continue to cook through.
  3. While the potatoes are finishing cooking, warm the tortillas in a skillet so they are easier to use.
  4. Build the taco: black beans on the bottom, sweet potatoes, onion, jalapeno, spinach, goat cheese, and avocado cream. Serve with tortilla chips and salsa.

Shawn recently started going to a personal trainer and she and I were talking about how our bodies have been changing thanks to the exercising. She’s noticed muscles that have been forming and how clothes have been fitting different. She’s always been tiny, but now her muscles are growing in different ways. I’ve been noticing the same thing and I’m still in awe at how much my body has been changing. The human body is a pretty cool thing.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

