And…woops, it’s Huge

Posted on September 11, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

Cast iron skillets are great, they hold heat for a while, you can put them on the stove and in the oven. And, they last forever. I have 2 skillets, 1 dutch oven and a grill pan. I’m never going to need another one of those items again, I’m just not.

Today, after my super healthy dinner of Pho (and my entire healthy week of my spinach salad) I really wanted to bake something in a skillet. I had wanted to do skillet cornbread, but all the recipes that looked the best needed cream, which I don’t have. I always crave brownies around a certain time of the month..so, brownie it was. The only recipe I found that I could do was one from Two Peas and Their Pod. I used the chemistry part of the recipe and added my own things. I forgot to half this recipe, so it ended up in the big skillet …I have a lot of brownie.

This recipe is super easy and you can actually do all the cooking in the skillet itself.

Skillet brownie with Salted Carmel Pieces

Here’s what to get from the store:

Coco powder
Salted caramel candy
Butter

Skillet Brownie

1 cup unsalted butter
2 1/4 cups granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups Dutch-process cocoa
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons sea salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 large eggs
1 1/2 cups all-purpose all Purpose Flour
1 Package Walgreen’s Brand Salted Caramel Candy, chopped
Giradelli Salted Caramel Squares

  1.  Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. In your skillet, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the sugar and stir to combine. Return the mixture to the heat and stir until smooth and the mixture is shiny.
  3.  Remove from heat and stir in the cocoa, baking powder, salt, and vanilla extract.
  4.  Whisk in the eggs, stirring until smooth.
  5.  Add the flour and candy pieces. Stir until just combined.
  6. Bake the brownies for about 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with just a few moist crumbs clinging to it. The brownies will be a little gooey. Remove the skillet from the oven  and add the rest of the candy to the top so it melts in. Let cool completely on a rack before cutting and serving. Serve with ice cream and additional salted caramel sauce, if desired.

Sometimes it’s good to be indulgent. I love my healthy lifestyle and my yoga practice, but I can’t always be perfect. Being perfect is boring anyway.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

