En-CURR-agable

Posted on September 17, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

Does that work? No, I don’t think it is…I don’t know where the dad jokes came from, but, here they are.

I have to say, I have been very impressed with the younger crowd I’ve been serving and very dissapointed in the older crowed I’ve been serving. I don’t know what happened, but instead of the older crowd being polite and tipping well, they’re being rude and yelling at me while I’m at other table and the kids are tipping like they’re made of money. So, in other words, today was kind of stupid at work.

After the success of my pho, I wanted to make a curry. I searched online for a few recipes but I really didn’t like any of them. I decided to wing it instead, and that was the best decision I’ve ever made. My curry is probably the best thing I’ve ever made, and I made it using techniques I’d seen on Chopped a few times and mixed it with a technique I used for the Pho. The only recipe I actually used was for the roti I had on the side, and I honestly didn’t even need it.

This curry is perfectly spiced so you don’t burn yourself, but still burns enough. The flavor is some of the best I’ve ever created.(And, I think, it’s vegan) Yes, that’s overly cocky, but I have never been so proud of something I’ve made before.

This is actually a pretty easy thing to create, but it does take some time. I tried to only make one serving, and I still got 2 somehow. (Not complaining).

Coconut curry with Tofu, Chickpeas, and Veggies

Here’s what to get from the store:

Firm Tofu
Red Curry Paste
Coconut Milk
Celery
Carrots
Fresh Ginger
Chickpeas
Mushrooms
Jasmine Rice
Fresh Cilantro
Coconut Oil
Wheat Flour

Coconut Curry with Tofu and Chickpeas

1 cinnamon stick
2 full cloves
1 tsp diced fresh ginger
4 cloves garlic
1/4 red onion, diced
1 carrot, diced
1 piece of celery, diced
Mushrooms
1 can of coconut milk
1/2 jar of red curry paste
1 Can of Chickpeas
1 cup jasmine rice
Fresh Cilantro
Red Pepper flakes, tumeric, cummin, salt and pepper
Firm tofu, cubed
Siracha
Coconut oil
Olive Oil

  1. Toast the cloves and cinnamon until slightly charred. Add the fresh ginger, toast for another half minute.
  2. Add a spoon full of coconut oil to the pan. As it melts, add the onion, celery, and carrots. Saute until the onions are fragrant. Add the garlic and saute a little more.
  3. Add the coconut milk, curry paste, mushrooms and seasonings. Bring to a boil, keep stiring and let reduce. Taste to adjust seasonings.
  4. While the curry is reducing, cook the rice like you normally would, in boiling water until it soaks up the water. Add cilantro, salt and pepper.
  5. Coat the tofu in siracha, olive oil, salt and pepper. Pan fry until crispy. Add the tofu and chickpeas to the curry and mix well.
  6. To serve, put the rice on the bottom and spoon the curry on top. Serve with roti (recipe below)

Roti
(From, All Recipes)

2 cups durum wheat flour (Or regular wheat flour)
1/2 Tsp Salt
3/4 cup water

1 tbsp Water

 

  1. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, salt, water and oil, until the mixture pulls away from the sides. Turn the dough out onto a well floured surface. Knead until smooth and pliable, about 10 minutes.
  2. Preheat an unoiled skillet or tava to medium high heat. Divide dough into 12 equal parts, form into rounds and cover with a damp cloth. Flatten the balls with the palm of your hand, then use a rolling pin to roll out each piece into a 6 to 8 inch diameter round.
  3. Cook the roti for 1 minute before turning over, then turn again after another minute. The roti should have some darker brown spots when finished. Best served warm.
At the beginning of the week I thought about picking up a shift for tomorrow night, my only night this week. But, I ended up working a full 16 hours last night and decided to not press the matter. That, and all my bills for next month are paid, so it’s not like I HAVE to work. I SHOULD buy myself something fun. Problem is, I’m super picky. I’m probably going to spend some time online shopping and maybe buy some things….we’ll see.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

