App-ly Recommended

Posted on September 22, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Today when I got off work I planned yoga, Target trip, laundry, more pickles, and dinner. While I did all those things, I also added making some apple crisp to those plans. Shawn and I went to the orchard on Thursday and she and I were originally going to make crisp that night, but she was exhausted and we had some huge bowls of Pho instead.

I turn around and it’s almost 8 and I haven’t eaten. Woops. So I made a grilled cucumber and brie sandwich. Part of me really hates when people put up recipes for sandwiches. Every time I see one I think of the girl I had to teach how to make a rum and coke…it’s in the name. So, I’m not going to write a recipe for the sandwich I made, but I will tell you what I put in it: brie, cucumber, spinach, sprouts, salt and pepper.

Brie and Cucumber Grilled Cheese

The crisp I will tell you the recipe…kind of. I didn’t actually measure anything except for the crumb topping, but that’s all you really need to measure. I also didn’t peel my apples, I never do, but you can if you like. (I think they add a nice flavor and texture actually)

Apple Crisp

Here’s what to get from the store:

Apples
Lemon
Brown Sugar
Whole Cloves

Apple Crisp

5 – 6 large apples, sliced
Flour
Cinnamon
Brown Sugar
2 Cloves
Zest and Juice of 1 lemon
Nutmeg

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup oatmeal
1/2 pound cold unsalted butter, diced
  1. Coat the apples in the flour, sugar, juice and spices. Put in a 9 x 9 square pan.
  2. Mix the flour, sugars, salt, oatmeal and butter until incorporated. Crumble on top of the apples.
  3. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes or until slightly browned on top. Serve with ice cream if you have any.

I’ve been a little down lately, 30 hasn’t started out too well. I’ve been trying really hard to look at the positive parts of my life, because there are a lot of them. And the good parts always outweigh the bad parts,no matter what.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

