Saucey Lady

Posted on September 23, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

Yesterday I thought I only had enough apples to make my crisp. Well, since I made it in a smaller pan, I actually had enough apples to make about 2 pint jars worth of apple sauce. Apple sauce is such an easy thing to make, it’s almost criminal that you can buy it at the store.

Once again, I didn’t peel my apples (you really don’t need to guys) or measure anything for this. This recipe is 100% eyeballing, so I’ll just give you what to put in, and how to cook it, just remember when you make it to taste, taste, taste. You can follow a recipe to the letter, but if you don’t taste it to cater to what you like, it won’t be good food. Good food comes from experiencing it from beginning to end.

Apple Sauce

Here’s what to get from the store:

Apples
Brown Sugar
Lemon Juice
Cloves
Cardamom
Cinnamon

Homemade Apple Sauce

Apples, sliced
Brown Sugar
Lemon Juice
2 cloves
Cardamom
Cinnamon
Water

  1. Put the apples in a sauce pan (or stock pot, depending on how many you have) with the lemon juice and brown sugar. Turn the stove on high.
  2. When the lemon juice starts to boil, stir the apples and add the spices, stir every few moments. After a while, start mashing the apples as you stir, adding just a little bit of water. Let the apples cook down, stiring and mashing as you go. If you want a smooth sauce, use a potato masher to mash the chunks up. Store in jars in the fridge.

I’ve never been diagnosed with anxiety problems, but sometimes I wonder if I have them. I tend to obsess over things and only see the negative if it directly effects me. I’ll feel that way until I figure out it has nothing to do with me; it’s been that way as long as I remember. It’s a weird feeling, and I’m not sure if I’ll ever understand it, but I’ve learned to deal with it.

No matter how bad things seem, they really aren’t. To remind myself of that, I bought some flowers for myself today. And, now my apartment smells like applesauce, so I win life.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

