Fushiony

Posted on September 26, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

At the beginning of the week I was thinking about what to cook…and I had NO IDEA what to make at all. After looking at my super sad grocery list of 2 items, I shot Serina a text to see if I could jump start my inspiration, and she did. She suggested enchiladas. I didn’t want to do any Mexican flavors though, so I decided I was going to do a fusion of Mexican and Indian with a tempeh filled enchilada that had a coconut curry sauce on top.

I wasn’t sure what else to put into the enchiladas besides tempeh until I got to the store. For some reason I was drawn to the rhubarb and decided that was  a great idea. My parents gave me some fresh green beans from their garden, and I decided to add that. The result was a perfectly spicy, somewhat messy, delicious dinner.

Up until today, I’d never actually had tempeh before. Uncooked, it has very little flavor and that gave me the opportunity  to infuse a bunch of different flavors right into the protein.

This recipe won’t take you too long, and if I do it again I would warm up the tortillas before I rolled them; I didn’t to that this time and they cracked because I got corn instead of flour. No biggie, still tasty.

Fusion Enchiladas

Here’s what to get from the store:

Tempeh
Black Beans
Tomatoes
Rhubarb
Corn Tortillas
Coconut Milk
Goat Cheese
Sharp Cheddar
Jalepeno
Canned Chiplotes

Mexican and Indian Fusion Enchiladas

2 cloves garlic, smashed
1 jalepeno, de seeded and diced
1 tbsp red onion, chopped
2 cloves
1 cinnamon stick
Corriander, cummin, curry powder, tumeric
Pine Nuts
1 stick of rhubarb, diced
1 block tempeh, diced
Black Beans
1 small slice fresh ginger
Goat Cheese
Tomato, sliced
Spinach
1 can coconut milk
2 chiplote peppers
1 heaping tsp red curry paste
Corn Tortillas

  1. Dry toast the pine nuts, cloves, cinnamon and corriander. Once the pine nuts start browning, add the ginger and stir.
  2. Add some coconut milk, then saute the onions until fragrant. Add the jalapenos and rhubarb and saute. Add the garlic.
  3. Once the garlic is cooked, add the tempeh and rest of the spices. Once the tempeh is cooked, add the tomato and let cook down.
  4. Prep your tortillas, warm them slightly. Put the black beans down the middle, add some of the tempeh mixture, some spinach if you like and a little goat cheese. Roll the tortillas up in a baking dish. Continue on with this until the mixture is gone.
  5. If you have some extra mixture, take it out of the pan. In the same pan, add the coconut milk, chiplote pepper and curry paste to the milk. Bring to a boil and let the flavors marry. Pour over the enchiladas and top with cheddar cheese.
  6. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted. Add more cheese to serve.

I’ve been having car issues for a while, everyone knows that. Well, I’m about ready to give up, bite the bullet, and buy a new car. I’ve been stubborn and cheap, but it’s time to stop that and start looking at newer cars. My wallet is already sad.

But, besides all the bad things, I’ve been feeling physically amazing AND tomorrow is brew fest; the only day of the year where I ask off purposely to drink. I can’t wait.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

