Corny!

Posted on October 20, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: |

I’m back! After my schedule and Sarah’s wedding the past 2 weeks, I’ve barely had time to think let alone cook anything. But, the wedding is done and I’m back to normal (Kinda, still don’t have a day off).

The wedding was a TON of fun, I met some pretty cool people and got to party with some family I don’t get to normally see. I still ran back to work last night, because I don’t like giving up that shift. Because of all that partying, I wasn’t feeling too great (guys, don’t mix whiskey, Redd’s mango, and wine, just don’t) and I posted on Facebook that I wanted a bacon egg and cheese bagel from Dunkin. While that didn’t happen, some of my regulars, Mark and Laurel came in and gave me some of their home made veggie soup. I didn’t get to eat a ton of it during work, so I brought it home to eat. I’m not sure what all is in it, but I know there’s a lot of beans, and some brussles sprouts and zucchini. It’s really good. I wanted something to go with it, and what is better with soup then corn bread?

I wanted to do a skillet cornbread, but all the recipes I found contained buttermilk. I only have cashew milk and I think it’s not a true buttermilk with that. However, when my parents went on their vacation, they went to Gristmill and brought us back cornmeal. There was a recipe with the cornmeal so I thought I’d try it and just bake it in a cast iron skillet.

This recipe is very easy, but I can tell why most recipes have the buttermilk. It’s still fluffy, but it needs some more flavor (so I added garlic powder to the top). If you want to bake it in a skillet like I did, you can just melt the butter right in the skillet and add the dry ingredients to it.

Skillet Cornbread

Here’s what to get from the store:

Cornmeal

Gristmill Cornbread

3/4 cup cornmeal
1/3 cup sugar
3/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp melted butter
1 cup flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 cup milk
1 egg, beaten

  1. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. While you are doing that, melt the butter in a skillet.
  2. Add the eggs and milk to the dry ingredients, then add the mixture to the melted butter in the skillet. Mix to incorporate and spread on the bottom of the skillet.
  3. Bake in a 450 degree oven for 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

I’ve missed the past 2 weeks when I didn’t have time to cook. I’ve been a little stressed out because of life things, and cooking has been my outlet. I’m glad I’m back to being able to cook, I need it.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    October 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

