Just Popping In!

Posted on October 22, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

The one friend that I still have from high school is my friend Phil. He’s a chef now and the last time we talked he said the flavors in my tomato and broccoli soup made no sense. They made no sense, but man did they taste good. So, to keep on with the random flavors that make no sense, I decided to do a jalapeno popper stuffed salmon. Because, why not? I had seen a recipe for a chicken version of it, but I didn’t want to do chicken. Salmon is my favorite protein and I would make anything with it.

Now, there are a few things to consider while making this dish: you’ll need either butcher’s string or skewers and a cast iron skillet (I used skewers), taking the skin off the fish is NOT easy, so if you can have them take it off at the store, do so (I didn’t have anyone who could)and, if you have only one cutting board, do the fish last. Cross contamination is a real thing, even if you’re at home.

This recipe will take some skill, but not a ton. The hardest part I had besides taking the skin off the fish (my knife skills are terrible, I’m working on them) was cutting the filet thinner so it would roll. Other than that, salmon is actually a really easy fish to cook, you just have to worry about over cooking it so it won’t be dry.

Jalapeno Popper Stuffed Salmon with a Honey Dijon Cream Sauce

Here’s what to get from the store:

Salmon filet (skin on or off)
Feta Cheese
Cheddar Cheese
Jalepeno
Greek Yogurt
Fresh Dill
LemonCream
Dijon Mustard
Honey
Quiona
Skewers or Butcher’s String

Jalapeno Popper Stuffed Salmon

1 lb salmon filet, skin removed
3 jalapenos, chopped and seeded
3 tbsp Greek Yogurt
1 tbsp Feta Cheese
1 tbsp Cheddar Cheese
Lemon Zest
Salt, pepper, fresh dill
1 cup quiona, cooked
Honey Dijon Cream Sauce, recipe below

  1. Put your jalapenos, Greek yogurt, cheeses and seasonings in the blender. Pulse together so it’s mixed, but not smooth. Taste to make sure the flavor is good (I didn’t measure when I made this, so these are approximate)
  2. Slice your salmon in half so it is thinner (not up and down, think like you’re cutting a hamburger bun in half). Put the mixture in the middle, and roll. Tie with string or skewer to keep together.
  3. Pre heat your cast iron skillet on the stove with some coconut oil, season with salt and pepper on both sides. Sear both sides of the roll, then put into a 325 degree oven.
  4. While the salmon is in the oven, start your sauce. Make sure you turn the salmon at least once while in the oven.
  5. Serve over quinoa mixed with kale and the Honey Dijon Cream Sauce

Honey Dijon Cream Sauce

1 shallot, diced
3 cloves garlic, smashed
Pinot Grigio, or another dry white wine
1/2 pint heavy cream
Dijon Mustard
Honey
Salt and pepper

  1. Saute the shallot in some coconut oil until fragrant. Add the garlic and saute some more.
  2. Splash some of the pinot grigio in the pan, mix and let reduce.
  3. Add the cream, dijon and honey. The sauce should be a pale yellow color. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Bring to a boil and reduce the heat. Make sure you stir quite a bit so the cream doesn’t scald. Let the sauce reduce and taste for flavor, you may need to add more honey. Serve over the salmon.

Today was the perfect weather, I wish I had the time to sit outside today, but I have no porch and I have this problem with working. Yesterday I heard a coworker say he wished he was working today…and I still didn’t give him my shift. I just kind of hope for a day off instead of asking for them. I’m getting to the point where I’m going to need to ask for them. My tension headaches are back, and my yoga practice can only do so much.I have so many friends I need to visit, ad I haven’t taken the time to do it. Being a workaholic is only good for your wallet.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    October 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

