Cha-Cha-Chia!

Posted on October 29, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

The last time I had a day to myself, it must have been August at least; I was able to go to the beach. Tomorrow is the first day where I have no obligations to anyone and I couldn’t be more excited. When you work as much as I do, having even a 12 hour span off seems like a long time. Seriously, these 48 hours feels like a week, and I’ve only been off work for about 4 hours.

I had to wait to go grocery shopping till after work Tuesday, and I had to grab quinoa because I was out, and noticed that Chia seeds were a few bucks off. I admit, I was a little weirded out when people started eating the seeds that could be grown on a Tweety head, but, Shawn had told me she made some of the pudding, and I thought I’d try it out. (I told her if I didn’t like it that she was going to get the rest of it). I actually liked it. Now, this pudding wasn’t as thick as I liked, and I’m not sure if it was just because I used more cashew milk than I should have or if that’s how it’s supposed to be.

This recipe is super easy, and it’s ready in an hour or over night. It made about 2 servings, I only had 1 but it wasn’t that filling. I found that odd because chia seeds are supposed to be full of fiber, and I added some flax seeds to.

Banana Chia Pudding

Here’s what to get from the store:

Chia Seeds
Almond or Chasew Milk
Banana (you need more ripe ones)
Walnuts
Honey

Banana Chia Pudding
(From Healthy Living How To)

1 1/2 c. Unsweetened Almond Milk (or Cashew Milk)
1 Small Banana
Liquid Vanilla Stevia (Or honey) (to taste)
1/4 c. Chia Seeds
2 tbsp Flax Seeds
Walnuts (Optional)

  1. To a blender, add almond milk and peeled banana.
  2. Whiz until blended and no chunks of banana remain.
  3. Add vanilla stevia until desired sweetness.
  4. Pour liquid into quart-sized jar with lid.
  5. Add chia seeds, cover and shake well.
  6. Place in refrigerator for 10 minutes then remove, shake again, add the flax seeds, then back in the refrigerator.
  7. Chill for an hour.
  8. Serve garnished with walnuts.

I don’t eat a ton of beef anymore, but, we had a patty melt on the lunch special today and I just HAD to have it. I could barely get through half of it! That amount of protein fills me up so much; I kind of knew that, but it’s always a surprise. I can eat vegetables for hours it seems and almost never get full, but 1 burger is too hard to finish. I probably don’t need any meat protein for the rest of the week…luckily I have some awesome veggie stuff on the menu for tomorrow.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    October 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

