Squash the soup!

Posted on October 30, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

Ok, that one wasn’t to great, but it’s hard with squash soup?

So, as I said yesterday, I got the day off. I literally laid around and did a bunch of nothing, added to some cooking. It was great. I left the apartment once, and that was because my Cartwheel app had 40% off boots and…well I had to get new snow boots.

I had been wanting to make a butternut squash soup ever since I had a version at work. It was good, but too thin and WAY to sweet. Yes, I know butternut squash is sweet, but this was almost dessert soup. I started my plan to just to regular soup, then I decided to add cauliflower and sweet potato, because, why not? And good soup needs good bread, so I found a recipe for a no knead bread online. And then I decided I wanted to make some bread pudding out of the banana bread I had in my freezer. This is what happens when I have time to cook. I invited Shawn over because I know she likes a lot of the same flavors I do..and I still have a lot. I’ll be bringing some in to trade for some chili with some of my regulars.

The bread recipe is beyond easy (I actually woke up in the middle of the night wondering what the yeast would eat because there’s no sugar), the soup is just slightly time consuming, and the bread pudding is also super easy.

Butternut Squash Soup with No Knead Bread Banana Bread Pudding

Here’s what to get from the store:

Butternut Squash
Sweet Potato
Cauliflower
Vegetable Stock
Yeast
Milk
Walnuts
Banana Bread (Homemade is the best though)

No Knead Crusty Bread
(From Jo Cooks)

3 cups all purpose flour
1¾ tsp salt
½ tsp active dry yeast
1½ cups water (room temperature)

  1. In a big bowl mix flour, salt and yeast together. Pour water into the bowl and using a spatula mix it until it’s all incorporated. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let it sit on your counter for 12 to 18 hours.
  2. Preheat oven to 450 F degrees. Add your cast iron pot to the oven and heat it as well until it’s at 450 F degrees.
  3. Remove pot from oven and remove the lid from it.
  4. Flour your work surface really well and make sure you flour your hands really well. With your floured hands gently remove the dough from the bowl and roughly shape it into a ball. Take the ball of dough and drop it into the pot. Cover the pot with the lid and place it back in the oven.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes with the lid on, after which remove the lid and bake for another 15 to 20 minutes until golden brown.
  6. Remove from the oven and let cool.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Cauliflower

1 Butternut squash, halved
1 sweet potato, cubed
5 cloves garlic, peeled
1 tbsp chopped onion
Salt, pepper, cumin, turmeric, coriander, cinnamon
Red Curry Paste
Olive Oil
Cauliflower
1 quart Vegetable Broth

  1. Coat the potato, garlic and squash in olive oil and spices. Roast in a 350 degree oven until soft. Pull from the oven and scoop out the squash from the skin. Separate the garlic cloves.
  2. In a large pot, saute the onions until fragrant. Add the garlic and smash a little.
  3. Add the squash and potato mixture with the vegetable broth. Use an immersion blender to blend smooth. Add spices and simmer.
  4. While the soup is simmering, roast the cauliflower in a 350 degree oven covered in olive oil and the same spices as the other. Add to the soup.
  5. Taste the soup, and add more seasonings if needed. Serve with some crusty bread.

Banana Bread Pudding

1 loaf banana bread, cubbed
2 cups milk
4 eggs
Cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts

  1. Whisk the eggs, milk and seasonings together. Add the cubbed bread and walnuts and mix to coat. Let soak for about 20 minutes.
  2. Spoon into large, greased cupcake pans. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes or until cooked through. Serve warm.

Not taking time for myself for the past few months made me go a little crazy. Sure, I had a few hours here and there for myself, but they weren’t enough. I was always doing work, or helping other people, or talking about work; I couldn’t get a break. It’s ok to be selfish every once in a while, in fact, it’s healthy. Don’t get too caught up in the other things to forget about yourself. Be sure to work on yourself before you start giving it away to other people.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    October 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

