You Butter-not be lying

Posted on November 7, 2015. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

I got a new tattoo the other day, and while he was working on it, we talked about a bunch of things (I’m friends with my tattoo artist, but even if you’re not, it makes the time go by faster to talk to your artist). One of the things he said as that he needed another creative outlet, since his job is centered around drawing and painting. I said that’s why I cook, and he said one of the deepest things I think I have ever heard. “Art doesn’t have to go on a wall”. And he’s right; art is more than just painting, it’s molding, cooking, singing, acting, designing. Art is everywhere, even if you don’t think it’s involved. That’s why you need the arts in school, people.

Ok, time to get off my soap box (I really should use the thing more anyway).

You ever wake up and think “What am I going to do with the extra butternut squash I bought?” Anyone? No? Just me? That’s fine. I got the idea during the day to make a butternut squash chia pudding, but that would only take up half off the squash. What to do with the other? In the middle of driving around (had to recharge my car battery) I came up with a butternut squash risotto, cause, why not? Add some asparagus and you’ve got heaven.

The chia pudding is easy, super easy. The risotto is also easy, just takes patience. It’s one of those stick-to-your-ribs meals, considering the weather dropped 40 degrees in 12 hours…(stupid Midwest falls)

Butternut squash and asparagus Risotto Butternut squash Chia Pudding

Here’s what to get from the store:

Butternut squash
Asparagus
Arborio Rice
Vegetable Broth
Feta Cheese
Spinach
Almond Milk
Chia Seeds

Butternut Squash and Asparagus Risotto

1/2 butternut squash, cubed
1 shallot, diced
4 cloves garlic, smashed
1 cup arborio rice
1/3 cup dry white wine
2 cups vegetable broth
1 bunch asparagus, chopped
Feta cheese
Salt, pepper, cayenne, cinnamon, ginger, garlic powder

  1. Coat the squash in olive oil, salt, pepper, cayenne, cinnamon, ginger and garlic powder. Roast in a 400 degree oven until fork tender.
  2. Blanche the asparagus in boiling water until bright green; drain and put aside.
  3. Saute the shallots in a large pot with olive oil until fragrant. Add the garlic and saute a little more.
  4. Add the rice and wine, and stir. Add half the broth and cover. Let simmer until the broth is cooked out.
  5. Slowly add the rest of the broth in small batches, stirring each time until the broth is absorbed. This should take about 20 minutes; the rice will look creamy.
  6. Remove from heat and add the asparagus, squash and cheese. Stir to incorporate. Serve topped with fresh spinach and more feta cheese.

Butternut squash Chia Pudding

1/2 butternut squash
3 cups almond milk
3/4 cup chia seeds
Cinnamon, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper

  1. Cover the squash in cinnamon, salt, pepper and cayenne. Roast in a 400 degree oven until fork tender.
  2. Scrape the squash from the skin and put in your blender. Add the almond milk and blend until smooth. If you want, you can add honey to sweeten, but the squash is pretty sweet.
  3. Place in jars, and add the chia seeds. Shake to mix. Let sit overnight.

Yoga is one of those practices that you can be perfect one day, then fall out of a pose you’ve never fallen out of the next. But, if you keep with it, stretch a little deeper, add one more sequence, you’ll be surprised at what your body can do. After practicing for 9 months, my muscles have become longer, leaner, and more stretchy. People tell me all the time it looks like I’ve lost a bunch of weight, but in reality, I’ve been the same weight for a few months now; I’ve just become more lean. I’ve also become stronger; the things I can do amaze me. I pushed myself further than I normally do yesterday, and while my legs were shaking by the end, I felt so powerful at the end. Granted, today was one of those days where I fell out of most of my poses. Still felt amazing though.

Bottom line, find whatever exercise makes you feel like that. It could be anything, from walking, to weight lifting, to Zumba; as long as it makes you feel strong and powerful.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    November 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

