Roll on Out!

Posted on November 19, 2015. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I bought a new car last week, so the last thing I wanted to do was spend money on groceries. That, and I was so very uninspired. Very uninspired. It happens sometimes, this time of year with the gloomy weather doesn’t help. Normally I’d just jump in the tanning bed, but you can’t expose a new tattoo to that much sunlight right at the beginning. So, I’ve been a little slow.

I was able to force myself into yoga Sunday and today, and that helped quite a bit. Granted…my stomach hurt (don’t eat yogurt, soup, bread and then fried mac and cheese for breakfast/lunch…just…don’t) and I fell out of poses I normally don’t, but I got through and I feel more energized.

On Sunday, I decided that I wanted to make sushi this week. I’ve seen the cooks at work do it tons of time, how hard could it be? (ok, one of them isn’t very good…but the rest are). I was worried about the rice, because real sushi chefs spend a lot of time learning how to make the rice just perfectly. But, turns out the rice was really easy. I wanted to make up my own fillings, so I had fun doing that.

This recipe is actually very easy. Once you’ve cooked the rice, the fillings can be your own design (unless you really want to make something traditional) .

IMG_20151118_200506

Sushi platter with imitation crab, crispy tofu,cucumber, scallions, wasabi aioli, and siracha aioli.

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sushi rice
Nori Paper
Rice Vinegar
Imitation Crab
Firm Tofu
Scallions
Cucumber
Wasabi
Siracha
Eggs
Lemon Juice

Basic Sushi Rice
(Alton Brown’s Recipe)

1 cp sushi rice
1 cp water, plus more for rinsing
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tbsp kosher salt

  1. Place the rice into a mixing bowl and cover with cool water. Swirl the rice in the water, pour off and repeat 2 to 3 times or until the water is clear.
  2. Place the rice and 1 cups of water into a medium saucepan and place over high heat. Bring to a boil, uncovered. Once it begins to boil, reduce the heat to the lowest setting and cover. Cook for 15 minutes. Remove from the heat and let stand, covered, for 10 minutes.
  3. Combine the rice vinegar, sugar and salt in a small bowl and heat in the microwave on high for 30 to 45 seconds (Or heat in saucepan if you’re like me and don’t have a microwave). Transfer the rice into a large wooden or glass mixing bowl and add the vinegar mixture. Fold thoroughly to combine and coat each grain of rice with the mixture. Allow to cool to room temperature before using to make sushi or sashimi.

 

Wasabi Aioli

1 egg
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp wasabi
Salt, Pepper, Ginger
1/2 cp olive oil

  1. Combine the egg, juice, wasabi and spices in a blender. Blend until combined.
  2. While still blending, slowly add the olive oil until fully mixed.

Siracha Aioli

1 egg
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 cloves garlic
1 tbsp siracha
Salt, pepper
1/2 cp olive oil

  1. Combine egg, juice, garlic, siracha and spices in the blender. Blend until combined.
  2. While still blending, slowly add the olive oil until fully mixed.

Crispy Tofu

Tofu, cut into long strips
Corn meal
Flour
Salt, pepper, garlic powder, corriander

  1. Mix equal parts of corn meal and flour with seasonings, coat the tofu.
  2. Pan fry on each side until browned.

Making the sushi

  1. Take your nori paper and place it on a clean surface. Spread the cooled rice on all of the paper, leaving one inch free on one side. The rice will be sticky.
  2. On the end nearest to you, place your fillings next to each other. Roll tightly, pressing as you go. When you get to the empty spot, seal with water. Cut into 8 pieces. Serve with extra aioli on the side, and soy sauce.  I made 3 rolls:

Imitation crab with cucumber, scallion and the wasabi aioli
Crispy tofu with cucumber, scallion, and the siracha aioli
Crispy tofu, imitation crab, with scallion and siracha aioli.

I’ve been a little frustrated with one of my jobs; I’m not going into detail but it caused me to start having a panic attack. I didn’t grow up with anxiety issues, and I’ve had one this year for sure, and almost another one the other night. It’s freaky if you’re normally very level headed. (Ok, I’m assuming it’s still freaky if you’re not, but the first time is kinda scary) . I’m working on being positive, because I have more to be happy about than anxious. Besides, no one can be as awesome as I am all the time.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Roll on Out!”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    November 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

