Potted Chili

Posted on December 3, 2015. Filed under: Dining, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

Sorry, couldn’t figure out a good pun for that one.

Shawn and I went ice skating last night, Valpo put in a rink and I really wanted to check it out. She had been skating about 3 times before, this was my only second time. But, I didn’t fall, so it’s all good. I didn’t even hold on to the wall…that many times haha.

I had been wanting to make a chili pot pie for a while. I thought a warm chili with a corn bread crust would be the ultimate comfort food. I also wanted to do a vegetarian version because meat is just expensive. This meal (Ok, more like the next 5 meals..there’s a lot guys), plus a week of groceries was just over $50.

I wanted something that would be filling, warming, and healthy. Hard order to fill, maybe. I decided to use sweet potatoes, Brussels sprouts, asparagus and a bunch of beans. Those are pretty much all my favorite vegetables that I cook.

IMG_20151203_154528

Vegetarian Chili Pot Pie

This recipe is so very easy and can be made in a crock pot, prepped the night before.

Here’s what to get from the store:

Sweet Potatoes
Asparagus
Brussles Sprouts
Tomato Sauce
Shallots
Jalapenos
Pinto Beans
Chickpeas
Blackbeans
Cornmeal

Vegetarian Chili

2 Sweet Potatoes
1 Bundle Asparagus
10-15 Brussles Sprouts
1 Shallot
2 Jalapenos
30 oz tomato sauce
1 Cup Water
1 Can each, pinto, chick peans, and black beans
Salt, pepper, curry powder, paprika, cayenne, turmeric

  1. Dice the vegetables and layer in your crock pot. Char the jalapeno on your burner before dicing. Cover with the tomato sauce and water, then add the spices and stir.
  2. Cook on high for 3 hours, or low for about 5. Taste to adjust seasoning. Near the end, add the beans.

Drop Cornbread Biscuit Crust
(Based off Martha Stewart)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup fine yellow cornmeal
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold, cut into small pieces
1 cup coconut milk
1 cup shredded cheese

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar. Transfer to a food processor, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs with a few larger clumps remaining.

  3. Add the cheese and pulse some more.
  4. Pour in milk; using a rubber spatula, fold milk into dough, working in all directions and incorporating crumbs at the bottom of the bowl, until dough just comes together. The dough will be slightly sticky; do not over mix.

For the Pot Pie
Vegetarian Chili
Drop Biscuit Dough
  1. Pour the chili into small bread pans or ramekins. Place the biscuit dough on top in little mounds. The dough will spread out as it cooks.
  2. Place the ramekins on a cookie sheet and bake at 375 for about 15 minutes, or until the biscuit dough is starting to brown.

I hired 2 new stage managers at Gorilla Tango and I’m pretty proud of myself. This isn’t the hardest production stage manager position, but I actually enjoy the added responsibilities. I feel so lucky that I found what I was meant to do with my life. I know so many people who may never find that, even though I really do hope everyone gets to feel the rush and joy of doing something they truly love.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

