Odles of Zoodles!

Posted on December 11, 2015. Filed under: Main Course, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

I’m out of puns right now, so on to rhyming!

To say that my parent’s garden over produced may be an understatement. Their broccoli plants kept producing until the first snow and the tomatoes …well…I’m sure my parents could eat tomatoes for a year and be fine. So, there is no need to say they’ve been giving a lot of it away.

I came away Saturday with a gallon bag each of frozen tomatoes and broccoli. To freeze fresh vegetables, you have to cook them for a bit. So what my mom did is blanch them before freezing them. The broccoli is essentially cooked, so you can eat it right after it thaws if you want. Since the tomatoes are also cooked, using them for salads and sandwiches is out, but they would be great for sauces and soups. Since I already did a tomato soup, I decided to do a pasta sauce.

I didn’t want to just do pasta sauce over normal old noodles. I have seen spirilizers a bunch of times, and thought maybe I’d try that out, and zucchini sounded like a good vegetable to use. I’m actually really impressed; while the zoodles don’t taste exactly like pasta, they do have the same texture and hold up very well to a pasta sauce.

This recipe is probably the most healthy I’ve ever done (and it’s SUPER EASY) not only is it vegetarian, it’s vegan, mostly organic and it’s heart healthy. From top to finish, it took me just under an hour to make.

IMG_20151210_194115

Zoodles with organic broccoli and a spicy marinara

Here’s what to get from the store: (if you don’t have tomatoes and broccoli like me)

Zucchini
Broccoli
Tomatoes
Fresh Basil
Shallots
Sprilizer

Zoodles with Spicy Marinara

1 Zucchini
6 cloves garlic, smashed and diced
1 gallon frozen, cooked tomatoes (or canned plum tomatoes)
1 shallot, chopped
Handful blanched broccoli
Fresh Basil
Dry white wine
Balsamic Vinegar
Salt, pepper, red pepper flake, parsley

  1. Saute the shallot and 3 of the garlic cloves in a pan with olive oil. Add a splash of dry white wine and balsamic vinegar. Let reduce.
  2. Add the tomatoes,basil and other spices to the garlic and onions, stir and let simmer on the stove.
  3. Take your zucchini and use the spirlizer to cut out pasta like pieces. (It’s easy, works like a screw).
  4. Saute the broccoli with the rest of the garlic, salt and pepper. Add the zucchini with a little more oil, and saute a little more. It will cook quickly.
  5. Add the sauce to the zucchini and mix.
  6. Serve topped with more fresh basil and avocado.

Everyone needs something that makes them completely confident in who they are. Yoga is that thing for me. Ever since I started practicing, I have become more in shape, more confident in myself, and *slightly* less clumsy. I’ve noticed I’ve attracted a different caliber of men, I have way more energy, even when I’m said, I’m not sad for long. Heck, I finally for the first time in my life have a butt. I never thought I would make it this far, but I have and I am so proud of myself.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

